Film and Television Subject Guide
For more in-depth information about doing research on film and television, look at the Film and Television subject guide.
Film / Video Databases
The following databases contain films and videos on the Vietnam War. If you haven't already done so, you will need to configure your computer to connect from off-campus.
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new windowThis collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. Browse sub-collections for more on subjects covered.
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowOnline video collection featuring hundreds of documentaries covering a range of topics. Subjects include race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. UCLA subscribes to volumes I and II.
Guide to Vietnamese Films at UCLA Library
The UCLA Library and the Office of Instructional Development (OID) owns many films about Vietnam and the Vietnamese, including ones about the Vietnam War and Vietnamese Americans. Go to the research guide below to find specific titles, primarily organized by types of films, that were listed in the catalog as of December 2014. To find more titles, go the library catalog and search for "Vietnam" or "Vietnam War" and "videorecordings"; items housed at OID's Instructional Media and Collections Services also appear in the catalog.
UCLA Film and Video Collections
These campus entities house collections that are publicly cataloged or listed. Each has a different access policy, so it is important to check individual websites, even though many holdings appear in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- Instructional Media Collections and ServicesVideo collection funded for instructional on-campus use. Though holdings are also listed in the UCLA Library Catalog, users can double-check the separate IMCS catalog available from the website.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive Catalog This link opens in a new windowMotion pictures (silent era, classic Hollywood, independent cinema, LGBT collections, documentaries and newsreels, animated cartoons, foreign and contemporary American films), television (American telecasting from 1945 to date), and news and public affairs programs (1950 to date).