Digital Image Resources
Use these sites to search for images related to the Vietnam War. Some are freely available, others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
-
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
AP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains millions of photographs dating from 1826 to present day from the Associated Press. Includes thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present.
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new windowHigh-resolution Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images are contributed by museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and estates, from a variety of sources including the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts. UC campuses contribute additional images including: the Archivision Library, Saskia Art & Architecture images, the Visual Resources Collections from UCB, UCSB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, and the UCSC Library Instructional Collection. Now hosted on the JSTOR platform.
-
Flickr CommonsA free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.
-
LIFE Photo ArchiveGrowing historical photo archive for LIFE magazine, hosted by Google.
-
NYPL Digital GalleryThousands of digital images from the New York Public Library's collections.
-
WorldImagesContains thousands of images on a range of global topics. This free site also includes some coverage of clothing and dress.
Photographs / Images of the Vietnam War (Internet Resources)
-
Fall of Saigon 40th Anniversary / CBS NewsCompilation of 31 images on the Fall of Saigon.
-
1965-1975: Another Vietnam"Unseen images of the war from the winning side"
-
Francois Sully Photograph Collection, 1963-1971Photographs by French photojournalist Francois Sully. A digital collection from the Univ. of Massachusetts Boston Library.
Images of Vietnam (Internet Resources)
-
Old Photos of VietnamMost photos in this collection date from and depict scenes of Vietnamese society during the 19th to early 20th centuries. Also included are scenes of Vietnamese in France.
-
Hanoi in the Colonial PeriodCollection of pictures about Hanoi city in the French Colonial Period.
-
Travel Vietnam - National GeographicCollection of travel photos provided by the corespondents traveling Vietnam. Daily life from the low pace rustic area to fast moving industrial cities. Scenery of famous tourist attractions.