Useful Reference Works for this Class
Use the UCLA Library Catalog to find additional reference books. These reference books may provide an overview of your topic, define terms, or list the seminal authors and works in the field.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- The Oxford Companion to the EarthA wealth of information on planet Earth, written by some 200 expert contributors. There are articles on natural phenomena such as tornadoes and tsunamis, volcanoes and earthquakes.
- Encyclopedia of Death and the Human ExperienceIncludes entries on natural disasters, famine, etc., how societies react to them, specific historical examples, plus a short overview of the current global situation. Example entries:
Coming Up with Keywords
Not sure which search terms to use? Did your first search get you nowhere? This tutorial will help you find the best articles for your topic!