Scandinavian Studies

Daily national newspaper based in Copenhagen, Denmark. It was founded in 1749, making it Denmark's oldest continually operating newspaper. It was previously published under the titles: Kjøbenhavnske Danske Post-Tidender, Berlingskes Politiske og Avertissements Tidende, and Berlingske Tidende. It is considered a newspaper of record for Denmark. The publication is in Danish. Center for Research Libraries holdings include: paper (1917-1935); paper (1936-Jun 1938); Microfilm and Paper (Jul 1938-1944); and microfilm and paper (1956-1995).

Newspaper specializing in business news. It was founded in 1896 and is based in Copenhagen, Denmark. The publication is in Danish.

Weekly newspaper providing Danish news in English. It was founded in 1997, and it is the only regularly printed English-language newspaper in Denmark.

Weekly newspaper based in Copenhagen, Denmark. It was founded in 1892 and specializes in science and technology. The publication is in Danish. Select issues are available in paper (1990-2009, 2012) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Daily national newspaper based in Aarhus, Denmark. It was founded in 1871 and is considered an independent publication. The publication is in Danish.

Daily regional newspaper based in Aalborg, Denmark. It was founded in 1767 and is Denmark's second oldest newspaper.

Daily broadsheet newspaper based in Copenhagen, Denmark. It was founded in 1884 and was connected to the Danish Social Liberal Party. The newspaper has been politically independent since the 1970s, but it maintains a liberal stance. The publication is in Danish. Center for Research Libraries holdings include: paper (1886; 1888-1889); online (1890-1891); and microfilm and paper (1890-1951; 1955-1981)

Weekly newspaper published on Fridays. It was founded in 1971 and is based in Copenhagen, Denmark. It covers society and politics, as well as literature and fine arts.

Daily regional newspaper published in Aalborg, Denmark from 1827 to 1885. The publication is the predecessor to Nordjyske Stiftstidende, Denmark's second-oldest newspaper. The publication is in Danish. It is available in microfilm and paper via the Center for Research Libraries.

Evening edition of the major national newspaper, Berlingske Tidende; it was published from 1935 to 1971 and was later followed by Berlingske aftenavis weekend. The publication is in Danish. Select issues are available in paper (1935-1936) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Politically independent daily newspaper based in Copenhagen, Denmark. The publication is in Danish. Select Issues are available on microfilm (1984-1991) via UC Berkeley.

Semiweekly periodical published in the former Danish West Indies from 1802 to 1843. Previously, the newspaper was published under the titles: The Royal Danish American Gazette and The St. Croix Gazette. The publication is in Danish and English. Select issues are available in microfilm and paper (1802-1840) via UC Berkeley's University Archives and the Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF).

Digital collection of Danish newspapers from 1666 to 2013; it also features access to nine digitized newspapers from the Danish West Indies. Users have free access to 6,754,183 newspaper pages.

Daily political newspaper published from 1834 to 1882 in Copenhagen, Denmark. It became the leading opposition paper and played an influential role in the establishment of a constitutional monarchy. The publication is in Danish. It is available in microfilm and paper via the Center for Research Libraries.

Underground newspaper published in London during World War II; it was published by Frit Danmark—a resistance organization in occupied Denmark—and targeted the progressive bourgeoisie, the middle class, and the left wing radicals. The publication is in Danish. It is available in paper (1941-1945) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly illustrated newspaper that was published from 1859 to 1924. It covered entertainment, international news, and literature. The publication is in Danish. Indexed and browsable issues are available online via the newspaper database.

Daily newspaper published in Copenhagen, Denmark from 1876 to 1961; it focused on foreign news and culture. The newspaper was particularly popular during the German occupation of Denmark. The publication is in Danish. Center for Research Libraries holdings include: microfilm and paper (1937-Feb 1940; May-Jun 1940; 1946-1949); and microfilm and paper (March-April 1940).

Semiweekly periodical published in the former Danish West Indies (now the U.S. Virgin Islands) during 1770-1801. It is known for publishing writings by Alexander Hamilton, as well as for being the first newspaper published in the Danish West Indies. It was later published under the titles: The St. Croix Gazette and Dansk Vestindisk Regierings Avis. The publication is in Danish and English. Select issues are available in microfilm and paper (1788; 1792; 1794; 1797-1800) via UC Berkeley's University Archives and the Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF). It is also available via the Center for Research Libraries: microfilm (1770-1775); microfilm (1789-1790); and microfilm (1791-1792).

Daily newspaper published in Copenhagen, Denmark from 1874 to 1959. It focused on the labor movement. It was later resurrected as Aktuelt (1959-2001). The publication is in Danish. Select issues are available in Microfilm and Paper via the Center for Research Libraries.

Daily newspaper published in Copenhagen, Denmark from 1871 to 1874. It focused on the labor movement. The newspaper was later resurrected as Social-demokraten (1874-1959), then ultimately as Aktuelt (1959-2001). The publication is in Danish. Select issues are available in Microfilm and Paper via the Center for Research Libraries.

Underground newspaper published in Copenhagen, Denmark during the 1960s; it featured articles on topics, such as music (e.g., concerts and records), philosophy and religion, poetry, and politics. The publication is in Danish and English. It is available in microfilm via UCLA Library. Select issues are also available in microfilm (1968-1969) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Oldest and largest newspaper of the Faroe Islands. It was founded in 1877 and is based in Tórshavn. In the early years, the publication was written in Danish and Faroese; today, it is written in Faroese.

Daily newspaper based in Tórshavn. It is the second largest newspaper in the Faroe Islands; the publication is in Faroese.

Digital library containing newspapers of the Faroe Islands, Greenland, and Iceland; the database is searchable via filters, such as country, language, title, and years.

Daily newspaper based in Tampere, Finland. Founded in 1881, it is the second most widely circulated newspaper in the country. The publication is in Finnish and has a neutral political stance. The publication is in Finnish.

Daily newspaper based in Helsinki, Finland. It was founded in 1889 and is considered a newspaper of record for Finland. The publication is in Finnish. Select issues are available online (1904-1929; 1999-present) via databases—Access World E-News and Free E-Journals—and in print (1920-1939; 1999-2010) via UC Berkeley. It is also available in in microfilm and paper (1956-1998; 2004-2007) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Daily online newspaper that provides news about Finland for English-speaking readers. It was founded in 2007.

Daily Swedish-language newspaper published in Helsinki, Finland. Founded in 1864, it is the most highly-circulated Swedish-language newspaper in the country. Select issues are available online (2001-2015) via the database Access World News. It is also available in microfilm and paper (1956-1981) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Business newspaper based in Helsinki, Finland. It was founded in 1898 and has an independent political stance. The publication is in Finnish.

Online newspaper based in Helsinki, Finland. Founded in 1997, it is known as the largest business newspaper in the country. The publication is in Finnish.

Daily regional newspaper based in Turku, Finland. Founded in 1905, it is the third most widely read newspaper in the country. The publication has a neutral political stance and is in Finnish.

The Newspaper Collection of the National Library of Finland contains digitized newspapers (late 1700s-present) in Finnish and Swedish; the collection features the first newspapers—Tidningar utgifne af et Sällskap I Åbo and Suomenkieliset Tieto-Sanomat—and modern newspapers— Hufvudstadsbladet and Helsingin Sanomat.

Newspaper published in Mikkeli, Finland during the Continuation War (1941-1944). Published by the East Karelia Military Administration, the newspaper focused on military news and propaganda. The publication is is in Finnish. It is available in microfilm and paper via the Center for Research Libraries.

Principal daily newspaper in Iceland. Founded in 2001, it is the most widely circulated newspaper in the country. The publication is in Icelandic. Online access (2001-present) is available via Timarit.is.

Daily newspaper based in Reykjavík. It was founded in 1913 and has the second largest readership in the country. The publication is in Icelandic. Online access (1913-present) is available via Timarit.is. It is also available in microfilm and paper (1956-2002) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Bi-weekly online newspaper founded in 2015; it is focused on investigative journalism. The publication is in Icelandic.

Weekly newspaper founded in 1994. It covers business and national affairs. The publication is in Icelandic.

Digital library containing newspapers of the Faroe Islands, Greenland, and Iceland; the database is searchable via filters, such as country, language, title, and years.

Daily newspaper based in Oslo, Norway. Founded in 1860, it is considered a newspaper of record in Norway. It is also Norway's most widely circulated print newspaper. Historically, the newspaper took a conservative editorial stance. The publication is in Norwegian. The publication is fully available online via UC Library. It is also available via the Center for Research Libraries: online (Mar 1974) and in paper (1938-2014).

Daily newspaper based in Bergen, Norway. Founded in 1868, it is the fifth-largest newspaper in Norway, and the largest outside of Oslo. The publication is politically independent, and it is in Norwegian. It is available online (Feb 2018-present) via the database Factiva.

Daily newspaper published in Oslo, Norway since 1884. It has borne several names, including Social-Demokraten (1887-1923) and Arbeiderbladet (1923-1997). The publication aligned with the Labour Party until 1991, when it became politically independent. The publication is in Norwegian.

Daily newspaper published in Oslo, Norway since 1869. The newspaper maintains a liberal and politically-independent stance since the 1970s. Previously, it was affiliated with the Liberal party. The publication is in Norwegian. Select issues are available in paper (1880-1881; 1887-1895) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly newspaper based in Oslo, Norway. Founded in 1819, it covers politics, culture and science. Prior to 1993, the newspaper was connected to conservative and liberal political groups. The newspaper was temporarily discontinued during WWII. It is in Norwegian. Select issues are available in paper (1898; 1918-1919) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Daily newspaper published in Stavanger, Norway since 1893. Traditionally, it was the publication for the Norwegian Liberal Party; it maintains a Christian-conservative stance. It is available online (Feb 2018-present) via the database Factiva.

Daily newspaper based in Oslo, Norway. Founded in 1945, it is the second largest print newspaper in the country. The newspaper is available in print (last three months) via UC Santa Barbara. It is also available in paper (1957-1958) via the Center for Research Libraries.

A daily newspaper published in Oslo, Norway from 1923 to 1997. It was preceded by Social-Demokraten (1887-1923) and was ultimately renamed Dagavisen in 1997. It was formally owned by the Labour Party until 1991. The publication is in Norwegian. Select issues are available in microfilm and paper (1951-1958) via the Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF). It is also available in microfilm (all issues) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Daily newspaper published in Trondheim, Norway from 1877 to 1945. Traditionally, the newspaper was aligned with liberal political parties. From 1940 to 1945, the newspaper was aligned with the Fascist party Nasjonal Samling and was financed by the Nazi regime in Germany. The publication is in Norwegian. Select issues are available in paper (1908-1913) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Collection of digitized Norwegian newspapers from the 1800s to present-day. Publications are in Norwegian.

Underground newspaper published during World War II. Published twice a week from 1940 to 1945, the publication served as the information newspaper of the exiled Norwegian government in London. The publication is in Norwegian. It is available online (Volumes 1-40) via the database Adam Matthew Digital.

Daily newspaper published in Oslo, Norway since 1935. It was founded by Noregs Mållag—the organization for Norwegian Nynorsk, one of the two official written standards of the Norwegian language. The publication was a continuation of the newspapers Fedraheimen (1877-1891) and Den 17de Mai (1894-1935). Ultimately, the publication became a newspaper exclusive to member of Noregs Mållag. The publication is in Norwegian. Select issues are available in paper (1936-1939) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Daily newspaper published in Oslo, Norway from 1887 to 1923. In 1923, it was renamed Arbeiderbladet -- under which it was published from 1923 to 1997. The publication was the official organ of the Norwegian Labour Party. The publication is in Norwegian. Select issues are available via the Center for Research Libraries: microfilm 1909-1910; and microfilm 1918-1919.

Political newspaper published in Oslo, Norway from 1868 to 1923. It is not connected to the current newspaper, Verdens Gang (VG). The publication is in Norwegian. Select issues are available in paper (1873-1876; 1879; 1881-1884; 1887-1914) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Daily financial newspaper based in Stockholm, Sweden. The newspaper was founded in 1976, and its stated position is independent liberal-conservative. The publication is in Swedish. Online access (2001 to 2019) is available via the database Factiva.

Daily newspaper based in Stockholm. It was founded in 1864 and is considered Sweden's newspaper of record. The publication is in Swedish. It is available online (1997-2021) via the databases Access World News and Factiva. Select issues are also available in paper via the UCLA Library (1996-2001) and the Northern Regional Library Facility (1939-2009)

Daily newspaper based in Gothenburg, Sweden. It was founded in 1813 and was later resurrected in 1939. The publication has an independent stance and is in Swedish.

Daily newspaper based in Stockholm, Sweden. It was founded in 1884, and it covers national and international news. The publication has an independent stance and is in Swedish. It is available online (Apr 2001-Oct 2006) via the database Factiva. The newspaper is also available via the Center for Research Libraries: microfilm (1896-1899; 1954-1955; 1975-1979); microfilm (1952-1953); and microfilm (1928-1930; 1979-1981; 2000).

Daily newspaper based in Malmö, Sweden. Founded in 1870, the newspaper is characterized by its regional focus on news from Scania. It also covers national, EU, and international news. The publication is in Swedish.

Weekly Swedish-language newspaper published in Gothenburg, Sweden from 1886 to 1889. It was a culturally radical newspaper focused on free speech. The publication is in Swedish. It is fully available online (1886-1889) via the database Free E-Journals.

Daily newspaper published from 1832 to 1985 in Gothenburg, Sweden. During World War II, the publication was known for its criticism of Nazi Germany. Select issues are available in paper (1938-1945) via the UCLA Library.

Digital collection of daily newspapers from the 1800s to present day; the collection contains both historical and modern newspapers, such as Dagens Nyheter, Göteborgs-Posten, and Svenska Dagbladet.

Daily newspaper based in Stockholm, Sweden. It was founded in 1885 by two leaders of the Swedish Social Democratic Party. In 1943, the publication was renamed Morgon-Tidningen. The publication is in Swedish. It is available in microfilm and paper via the Center for Research Libraries.

Danish-language newspaper published in Omaha, Nebraska since 1872. Also known as Den Danske pioneer, it is the oldest Danish-language newspaper in the United States. Select issues are available in paper (1917-1955) and microfilm (1956-1999) through the Center for Research Libraries.

Semi-monthly newspaper serving the Icelandic community in North America. The newspaper is based in Winnipeg, Canada; it was founded in 1959, when the two leading Icelandic-American publications—Lögberg and Heimskringla—merged. The newspaper is in English.

Newspaper serving Swedish Americans and Swedish citizens in the United States since 1872. In 2007, it merged with fellow Swedish-language newspaper, Vestkusten. It covers Swedish news in English, as well as cultural content (e.g., traditions, trivia, recipes). The publication is in English and Swedish. Select issues are available in microfilm and paper (2009-2022) via UC Berkeley.

Biweekly newspaper focused on news from Norway and the Norwegian-American community. Founded in 2007, it is the result of a merger between the oldest Norwegian-American newspapers The Western Viking and Nordisk Tidende. The newspaper is mostly in English and features occasional articles in Norwegian.

Weekly Danish-Norwegian newspaper published in Salt Lake City, Utah from 1876-1935. Select issues are available in paper (1889-92) via UC Berkeley. It is also available in paper (Dec 1917-Jan 1925) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Danish-language newspaper published in Cedar Falls, Iowa from 1880 to 1951. Select issues are available in paper (1918-1951) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly Danish-Norwegian newspaper published in Chicago, Illinois from 1931 to 1952. It was previously published under the titles Revyen (1894 to 1921) and Dansk Tidende og revyen (1921-1931). It is available in paper via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly Danish-Norwegian newspaper published in Chicago, Illinois from 1921 to 1931; it was loosely aligned with the Socialist Party. It followed the publication Revyen (1894- 1921) and was later replaced by Dansk Tidende (1931-1952). Select issues are available in paper (1921-1931) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly Swedish-language newspaper published in the United States from 1921 to 1922. Founded by a socialist group—the Swedish Club of the Socialist Party in Rockford, Illinois—the newspaper focused on socialist propaganda. It was preceded by Svenska socialisten (1905-1921) and ultimately followed by Ny tid (1922-1936). It is available in paper via the Center for Research Libraries.

Swede-Finn newspaper published in Brooklyn, New York from 1897 to 1935; it was self-described as a "Liberal political folk newspaper for Swedish-speaking Finns in America." In 1935, the publication was renamed Norden. Select issues are available in paper (1918-1935) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly Icelandic-language newspaper published in Winnipeg, Canada. Founded in 1886, it served Icelandic immigrants in North America. In 1959, the newspaper merged with another Icelandic-American publication, Lögberg , and became Lögberg-Heimskringla. Select issues are available in paper (1917-1925) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly Icelandic-language newspaper published in Winnipeg, Canada. Founded in 1888, it served Icelandic immigrants in North America. In 1959, the newspaper merged with another Icelandic-American publication, Heimskringla , and became Lögberg-Heimskringla. Select issues are available in paper (1918-1927) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Daily Norwegian-language newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois; the publication was launched in 1866 by Marcus Thrane—the leader of a major labor movement in Norway. An issue is available online (May 25, 1866) via the database Gale Cengage 19th Century US Newspapers.

Weekly newspaper published in Turlock, California by the Swedish Free Church. Founded in 1909, it focused on the church, as well as mission work at home and abroad. The publication is in Swedish. Select issues are available in paper (1920-1928; 1929-1949) via UC Berkeley.

Monthly Swede-Finn newspaper published in Brooklyn, New York. Founded in 1935, the publication replaced the former Finska amerikanaren. Select issues are available in paper (1935-1990; 1997-2014) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Newspaper published in Seattle, Washington from 2007 to 2016. It covered news from Norway and the Norwegian-American community. Select issues are available in paper (2007-2010; 2012-2016) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly Swedish-language newspaper published in the United States from 1922 to 1936. Founded by a socialist group—the Swedish Club of the Socialist Party in Rockford, Illinois—the newspaper focused on socialist propaganda. Previously, it was published under the titles Svenska socialisten (1905-1921) and ultimately Facklan (1921-1922). Select issues are available in paper (1922-1936) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly Danish-Norwegian newspaper published in Chicago, Illinois from 1894 to 1921; it was loosely aligned with the Socialist Party. Later, it was resurrected under different titles: Dansk Tidende og revyen (1921-1931) and Dansk Tidende (1931-1952). Select issues are available in paper (1917-1921) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Semiweekly Norwegian-language publication published in Chicago, Illinois from 1866 to 1941. Select issues are available in paper (1871-1872; 1876-1878; 1899-1900; 1903- 1904; 1909-1941) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly Swedish-language newspaper published in the United States from 1905 to 1921. Founded by a socialist group—the Swedish Club of the Socialist Party in Rockford, Illinois—the newspaper focused on socialist propaganda. Later, it was followed by other publications: Facklan (1921-1922) and Ny tid (1922-1936). Select issues are available in microfilm and paper (1917-1921) via the Center for Research Libraries.

Weekly Swedish-language newspaper serving Swedish citizens and Swedish-Americans living in North America. It was founded by two Finnish Swedes in Vancouver, Canada in 1929. Select issues are available online (1986-2009) via the database Ethnic NewsWatch.

Semi-monthly newspaper published in San Francisco from 1887 to 2007. It was the leading Swedish-language newspaper in California. The newspaper was later revived as The new vestkusten (1993-1994) and ultimately as Vestkusten (1994-2007). It is available in paper (1982-1991) via UC Berkeley.

Weekly Swedish-language newspaper published in Seattle, Washington from 1889 to 1902. It was later published under other titles: Westerns tribun (1902-1903); Pacific tribune (1903-1914); and Svenska Pacific tribunen (1914-1946). An issue is available in microfilm (Aug 29, 1890) via UC Berkeley.