Selected Databases and Journals for Finding Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new windowAn index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated.
- Ingenta ConnectIngenta Connect is the flagship product of Ingenta and is the content home to over 130 publishers from all over the world. Ingenta Connect hosts more than 4.2 million articles and serves content to over 1.6 million users a month.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals from Taylor & Francis, Routledge, and Psychology Press. UCLA subscribes to a subset of these titles. Please limit to (filter) by Access Type to “Only show content I have full access to.”
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to international, scholarly literature in the arts, humanities and social sciences journals from the first issue to 2005 or ceased date that indexed are in the Periodicals Index Online. This is a static collection, and there may be some missing issues/gaps for specific titles.
- Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online.
- SAGE Complete Journals This link opens in a new windowCollection of journals available from SAGE Publications.
- SwePub—National Library of SwedenAcademic publications at Swedish universities. Search among scholarly articles, conference papers and dissertations etc.
- Tidsskrift.dk—The Royal Library, DenmarkThe library's national portal for publishing professional, scientific and cultural journals in digital full text. Tidsskrift.dk is also part of Denmark's National Strategy for Open Access, which is supported by the Ministry of Education and Research.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- University of California Press JournalsAs one of the world's most forward-thinking publishers, UC Press gives voice, reach, and impact to innovative research and exceptional scholarship. With a global circulation, our journals span the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, with key subject areas that include history, literature & criticism, film & media, music, religion, and sociology.
- University of Chicago Press JournalsThe University of Chicago Press publishes more than 90 scholarly journals that cover a wide range of disciplines, from the humanities and the social sciences to the life and physical sciences. In addition to working with departments and faculty of the University of Chicago, the University of Chicago Press publishes influential scholarly journals on behalf of learned and professional societies and associations, foundations, museums, and other not-for-profit organizations. All are peer-reviewed publications, with readerships that include scholars, scientists, and practitioners, as well as other interested, educated individuals.