Selected Resources for Finding Books
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
- WorldCat.orgFreely available version of the OCLC combined catalog of books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide.
UCLA Library Locations for Books and Other Print Materials
The majority of printed books found in this guide are located at the following library locations:
- Arts Library: Core collection of film history and criticism. Greatest strength is in English-language books, but does selectively collect some European-language books and periodicals.
- Charles E. Young Research Library (YRL): Houses research-level collections in the humanities and social sciences, including the majority of UCLA's international books and periodicals.
- Library Special Collections (LSC): Unique and rare materials that do not circulate; follow the link for information on searching and requesting LSC materials. Refer also to this FAQ page.
- Powell Library: Focuses on collections that primarily support undergraduate curricula in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics.
- Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF): Off-site storage facility for all campus libraries; most materials can be delivered to an on-campus library for pick-up (look for a "request" link when viewing an SRLF item in the library catalog).
- UCLA Lab School Library: Children's book collection that is accessible to UCLA Library card holders.
For a complete list of UCLA Library locations and hours, go here.