Hohenzollern Bridge
Photo: Gissel Rios
How to Find German Dissertations
The German National Library (Die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek) receives a depository copy of dissertations written in Germany. They also have an extensive collection of dissertations written elsewhere about German topics.
- Go to Erweiterte Suche (Advanced Search) on the DDB OPAC.
- Set one of the search boxes to “Hochschulschrift,” and search for “diss?” (where “?” is the truncation operator). Set another search box to "Alle Wörter or Schlagwörter," and type in your search term(s).
- Click on the "suchen" button.
Having identified the dissertation you need, search for it in the Center for Research Library (CRL) Catalog making sure that the "Dissertations" tab is selected at the top. If it is held by CRL, you can initiate an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request to have UCLA Library borrow the dissertation on your behalf. If you do not find the title you want, you can request to have it purchased through CRL's Demand Purchase Program. If you need assistance with this process, please contact the Librarian/Curator for European Studies.
Printed Bibliographic Sources for German Dissertations:
- Deutsche Nationalbibliographie und Bibliographie der im Ausland erschienenen deutschsprachigen Veröffentlichungen. Reihe H, Hochschulschriften. Monatliches Verzeichnis.Monthly bibliograpy. Frankfurt am Main : Buchhändler-Vereinigung.
- Deutsche Nationalbibliographie und Bibliographie der im Ausland erschienenen deutschsprachigen Veröffentlichungen. Reihe E, Monographien und Periodika -- FünfjahresverzeichnisFive-yearly cumulation. Bearbeiter und Herausgeber: Die Deutsche Bibliothek. Published/distributed: 1986-1990- Frankfurt am Main : Buchhändler-Vereinigung, 1992- . Available in YRL Reference Reading Room and at SRLF.
How to Find Austrian and Swiss Dissertations
- Österreichische DissertationsdatenbankAustrian Dissertation Databank.
- Gesamtverzeichnis Österreichischer Dissertationen. 1966- .Complete Directory of Austrian Dissertations. Organized by university and then alphabetically by author. Includes an author and subject index.
- HelveticatHelveticat is the online catalog of the Swiss National Library (NL). Add the word “diss” to your search terms in order to retrieve dissertations.
- Jahresverzeichnis der Schweizerischen Hochschulschriften = Catalogue des Écrits Académiques Suisses. 1897/98–This is the annual directory of Swiss university publications and includes dissertations published before 1999. Available online through HathiTrust.