Writing a Paper? Get Started Here.
- What is a Research Paper?This link leads you to the OWL at Purdue, an excellent website with information on all aspects of writing a paper.
- How to Read a Call NumberDo you wonder how to read a call number to find a book on the shelf? Check this page out for tips on how to do it.
- How to Read a CitationCan't tell the difference between a citation to a book or an article? Check this page out for tips on how citations work.
Revising Prose by ISBN: 0321441699Date: 2007This book models a clear, step-by-step system for creating straight-forward, concise, intelligible and readable prose.
Avoiding Plagiarism
See the Citing Sources Research Guide Section on Avoiding Plagiarism for more information.
Turn It In
UCLA has a campuswide license to Turnitin.com. Some professors ask their students to turn their papers in electronically and the text is submitted to Turnitin.com where it is compared with a vast database of other student papers, online articles, general Web pages, and other sources. Turnitin.com then produces a report for the instructor indicating whether the paper was plagiarized and if so, how much. To access this resource, log in to MyUCLA and click on the Turnitin.com link in the left-hand column under "MyUCLA Features." There will only be a link if your professor is using Turnitin.com.
Citation Style Guides — Online
When citing sources be sure to use the proper citation style for the course. Below are links to ONLINE summarized citation rules from some of the more popular style guides:
- APA (American Psychological Association) Via OWL at PurdueUse the examples on this page. You DO NOT need to click the green START button to use the website.
- MLA Style: Using MLA FormatA quick guide to MLA formats based on the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook.
- MLA (Modern Language Association) Via OWL at PurdueUse the examples on this page. You DO NOT need to click the green START button and use the website.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The 17th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style is fully searchable online.
- Chicago Manual of Style-Quick GuideVia University of Chicago Press.
- Chicago Manual of Style via OWL at Purdue.Use the examples on this page. You DO NOT need to click the green START button to use the website.
- Turabian Quick GuideBased on the Chicago Manual of Style.
- Citing Film, Video and Online Media (MLA Style)Guide from UCB Media Center. Consult latest edition of the MLA handbook for any changes to formatting.
Citation Style Guides — Print
For a general introduction to academic citation and intellectual property, see Citing Sources.
For more detail, consult the complete printed style manuals, available in many campus libraries:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style, 7th ed., 2020.ISBN: 9781433832154Click title above for details, call number, and library location(s)
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th ed., 2018, by ISBN: 9780226494425Click title above for details, call number, and library location(s)
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., 2017, by ISBN: 9780226287058Click title above for details, call number, and library location(s)
Also available online.
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., 2021 by
Print book only at YRL and Powell Libraries, UCLA.
The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting including: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism.
Call Number: REF LB 3259 M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518
A Writer's Reference, 9th ed. 2017, by ISBN: 9781319057442Click title above for details, call number, and library location(s)
Annotated Bibliographies
Preparing an annotated bibliography is often the first step in writing a research paper. Sometimes it is a stand-alone assignment. Annotations usually include both description and some evaluative comment. See Purdue University's OWL (Online Writing Lab) page (linked below) for more help in preparing an annotated bibliography.
- Annotated Bibliographies — Definition and FormatThis page from the OWL at Purdue provides basic information on annotated bibliography structure, with links to other parts of the OWL website.