Scholarly v. Popular
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleInteractive display of the key elements of a scholarly journal article.
- Here is a short video explaining PEER REVIEW.
Los Angeles Public Library
Not all articles are available in databases that UCLA subscribes to. The Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) has over 250 databases available to anyone with an LAPL library card. You can get an ECARD online-no need to go to a library.
The most useful database to try searching is Research Library (ProQuest), which UCLA does not subscribe to. It has some online journals not at UCLA.
Searching for Articles in Journals
There are several ways to search for journal articles. You can start with UC Library Search, using the Articles, Books and more option, which searches all the databases the UCLA Library subscribes to. Or you can go to a specific database, such as APA PsycINFO, Academic Search Complete, PubMed, etc.
In either case, start with a keyword search using words relevant to your topic. When you see some articles that look interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are subject terms or descriptors, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.
Databases that Index Journal Articles
This is a very select list of available article databases. If you want to look for others, go to this page and click through to your discipline (political science, sociology, history, etc.). Here you will find a selection of the most useful databases for each discipline listed.
class="box-in-box highlight"> 
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
- Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text.
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database that indexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications. Suggested search: cemeteries in Subject Terms and los angeles in Select a Field (optional). - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Use the same search strategy as suggested for Academic Search Complete listed above. - Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for names of cemeteries (e.g., Forest Lawn, Hollywood Forever, Mt. Sinai, etc.) or the name of a person and the word funeral. From the dropdown menu at the top of the page, select other Los Angeles newspapers, such as the Los Angeles Sentinel or Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-1991]. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text and index of core journals in the social sciences & humanities from their starting dates to about 5 years ago. Keep in mind that you are searching words in the full text of an article, not subject headings. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
You might find useful articles by searching funerals or cemeteries and "los angeles".
