Research Guides: UCLA University History in Library Special Collections: UCLA History, Administration, Reference Collections, Daily Bruin Archive

Online Archive of California (OAC)

Keyword search for primary source materials in UCLA's online finding aids:

UCLA History Sources

The following sources include a wealth of information about UCLA and are available as published sources or on microfilm, online, or through in-person visits to the Library Special Collections (LSC) reading room.

UCLA: The First Century, by Marina Dundjerski - a comprehensive and essential source of the history of UCLA up to 2010; includes bibliographical references, an index, and photo credits
UCLA on the move, during fifty golden years, 1919-1969 - by Andrew Hamilton and John B. Jackson
The Centennial Record of the University of California, Verne A. Stadtman
UCLA History - webpages maintained by UCLA Alumni Affairs
Various UCLA Departments and UCLA Program websites that contain their histories

UCLA Yearbooks

Complete set available upon request for consultation in the Library Special Collections reading room
UCLA Yearbooks

UCLA History Oral Histories

UCLA and University of California History

UCLA Administration Sources

UCLA Registrar's Office Archive

UCLA Registrar's Office - online access

UCLA Registrar's Office Archive - past copies of the General Catalog, Schedule of Classes, Fee Information, Refund Charts, and Academic Calendars
General Catalog, 1882/1883-present
Schedule of Classes, 1997-present

UCLA Registers, Directories, and General Catalogs - available for onsite consultation only

Financial and Administrative Records - available for onsite consultation only

Office of Business and Finance - Financial Audits and Reports, 1936-1994
Office of the Chancellor Administrative Files
- Office of the Chancellor - Administrative files of Albert Carnesale
- Office of the Chancellor - Administrative files of Charles E. Young
- Office of the Chancellor - Administrative files of Franklin D. Murphy

UCLA University Archives Reference Collections

UCLA University Archives Subject Files Reference Collection
Contains information on academic programs, buildings, events, and organizations affiliated with: the Los Angeles State Normal School (LASNS), 1881-1919; the University of California, Southern Branch, 1919-1926; and the University of California, Los Angeles, 1927- . The contents of the Subject Files (Reference Collection) include: reports, statistical data, histories of academic departments, organization charts, pamphlets, and other miscellaneous items.
UCLA University Archives Photographic Files Reference Collection
Contains photographic prints, photographic negatives, and slides of buildings, events, and organizations affiliated with: the Los Angeles State Normal School (LASNS), 1881-1919; the University of California, Southern Branch, 1919-1926; and the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), 1927-current. For construction photos of UCLA's Westwood campus buildings see Record Series 640/Campus Planning Committee and Office of Architects and Engineers. Additional UCLA photographs are also located in Record Series 684/Library Photographic Services. For photographs of people affiliated with UCLA, see Biographical Files.
UCLA University Archives Biographical Files Reference Collection
Contains biographical information and photographs of faculty and staff affiliated with: the Los Angeles State Normal School (LASNS), 1881-1919; the University of California, Southern Branch, 1919-1926; the University of California, Los Angeles, 1927- . Materials include curriculum vitae, photographs, press releases, and newspaper clippings.

The Daily Bruin Archive

UCLA Daily Bruin is the student newspaper at UCLA, published by and for UCLA students.

http://archive.org - online versions of microfilm reels; search term: UCLA Daily Bruin. Keyword searching is available within each reel

REEL 1: September 10, 1915 – June 20, 1918 (The Normal Outlook); September 29, 1919 – February 11, 1921 (The Cub Californian)
REEL 2: February 18, 1921 – March 21, 1924 (The Cub Californian / The California Grizzly (3/21/24)
REEL 3: March 25, 1924 – February 10, 1926 (The California Grizzly) (orientation horizontal)
REEL 4: February 11, 1926 – October 21, 1926 (The California Grizzly) October 22, 1926 - February 16, 1927 (The Daily Bruin)
REEL 5: February 27, 1927 – January 11, 1928
REEL 6: January 12, 1928 – January 18, 1929
REEL 7: February 11, 1929 – November 22, 1929
REEL 8: November 25, 1929 – October 9, 1930 (orientation horizontal)
REEL 9: October 10, 1930 – September 16, 1931
REEL 10: September 17, 1931 – September 30, 1932
REEL 11: October 3, 1932 – August 1, 1933
REEL 12: August 4, 1933 – May 11, 1934
REEL 13: May 14, 1934 – April 26, 1935 (orientation horizontal)
REEL 14: April 29, 1935 – March 9, 1936
REEL 15: March 10, 1936 – January 5, 1937
REEL 16: January 6, 1937 – November 11, 1937
REEL 17: November 12, 1937 – December 2, 1938
REEL 18: December 5, 1938 – December 11, 1939
REEL 19: February 15, 1940 – November 7, 1940 (orientation horizontal)
REEL 20: November 8, 1940 – December 1, 1941 (orientation horizontal)
REEL 21: December 2, 1941 – February 17, 1943
REEL 22: February 18, 1943 – January 22, 1945 (orientation horizontal)
REEL 23: January 24, 1945 – May 20, 1946 (orientation horizontal)
REEL 24: May 21, 1946 – October 3, 1947 (orientation horizontal)
REEL 25: October 6, 1947 – October 21, 1948
REEL 26: October 22, 1948 – September 22, 1949
REEL 27: September 23, 1949 – August 8, 1950
REEL 28: September 13, 1950 – March 15, 1951
REEL 29: March 16, 1951 – March 19, 1952
REEL 30: March 20, 1952 – March 19, 1953 (orientation horizontal)
REEL 31: March 20, 1953 – March 25, 1954
REEL 32: March 26, 1954 – March 25, 1955
REEL 33: March 28, 1955 – March 28, 1956 (poorly filmed – incomplete articles)
REEL 34: April 2, 1956 – March 14, 1957 (orientation horizontal)
REEL 35: March 15, 1957 – March 18, 1958
REEL 36: March 19, 1958 – March 5, 1959
REEL 37: March 6, 1959 – March 2, 1960
REEL 38: March 3, 1960 – February 10, 1961
REEL 39: February 15, 1961 – November 30, 1961
REEL 40: December 1, 1961 – September 27, 1962
REEL 41: September 28, 1962 – April 30, 1963
REEL 42: May 1, 1963 – March 20, 1964
REEL 43: March 31, 1964 - February 16, 1965
REEL 44: February 17, 1965 – November 2, 1965
REEL 45: November 3, 1965 – April 29, 1966
REEL 46: May 2, 1966 – February 6, 1967
REEL 47: February 7, 1967 – November 29, 1967
REEL 48: November 30, 1967 – May 2, 1968
REEL 49: May 7, 1968 – November 22, 1968
REEL 50: November 25, 1968 – May 12, 1969
REEL 51: May 13, 1969 – November 17, 1969
REEL 52: November 18, 1969 – April 23, 1970
REEL 53: April 24, 1970 – September 10, 1970
REEL 54: September 29, 1970 – December 11, 1970
REEL 55: January 6, 1971 – March 12, 1971
REEL 56: March 31, 1971 – September 9, 1971
REEL 57: September 28, 1971 – December 3, 1971
REEL 58: January 5, 1972 – March 3, 1972
REEL 59: March 29, 1972 – September 9, 1972
REEL 60: September 18, 1972 – November 22, 1972
REEL 61: January 8, 1973 – June 1, 1973
REEL 62: June 15, 1973 – November 30, 1973
REEL 63: January 7, 1974 – April 30, 1974
REEL 64: May 1, 1974 – October 31, 1974
REEL 65: November 1, 1974 – December 4, 1974
REEL 66: January 6, 1975 – April 16, 1975
REEL 67: April 17, 1975 - October 1, 1975
REEL 68: October 2, 1975 – December 3, 1975
REEL 69: January 7, 1976 – March 12, 1976
REEL 70: April 5, 1976 – September 9, 1976
REEL 71: September 21, 1976 – December 6, 1976 (orientation horizontal)
REEL 72: January 6, 1977 – March 11, 1977
REEL 73: April 4, 1977 – September 13, 1977
REEL 74: September 20, 1977 – December 5, 1977
REEL 75: January 9, 1978 – March 10, 1978
REEL 76: April 3, 1978 – September 14, 1978
REEL 77: September 19, 1978 – December 4, 1978
REEL 78: January 8, 1979 – March 9, 1979
REEL 79: April 2, 1979 – September 10, 1979
REEL 80: September 18, 1979 – December 3, 1979
REEL 81: January 7 1980 – March 7, 1980
REEL 82: March 31, 1980 – September 12, 1980
REEL 83: September 23, 1980 – December 4, 1980
REEL 84: January 12, 1981 – March 13, 1981
REEL 85: April 6 – September 3, 1981
REEL 86: September 22 – December 2, 1981
REEL 87: January 11- March 12, 1982
REEL 88: April 5 – June 4, 1982
REEL 89: June 28 – August 30, 1982
REEL 90: September 28 – December 8, 1982
REEL 91: January 10 – March 11, 1983
REEL 92: April 4 – June 3, 1983
REEL 93: June 27 – August 29, 1993
REEL 94: September 27 – December 7, 1983
REEL 95: December 27, 1983 – March 9, 1984
REEL 96: April 2 – June 1, 1984 –
REEL 97: June 21 – August 29, 1984
REEL 98: September 25 – December 6, 1984
REEL 99: January 7 – March 14, 1985
REEL 100: April 1 – June 6, 1985
REEL 101: June 24 – August 26, 1985
REEL 102: September 24 – December 5, 1985
REEL 103: January 1 – March 20, 1986
REEL 104: April 2 – April 22, 1986
REEL 105: April 23 – June 22, 1986
REEL 106: June 30 – August 28, 1986
REEL 107: September 23 – December 4, 1986
REEL 108: January 5 – March 12, 1987
REEL 109: March 30 – June 14, 1987
REEL 110: June 22 – August 27, 1987
REEL 111: September 22 – November 2, 1987
REEL 112: November 2, 1987 – December 3, 1987
REEL 113: January 4 – March 10, 1988
REEL 114: March 28 – April 29, 1988
REEL 115: May 2 – June 3, 1988
REEL 116: June 27 – September 1, 1988
REEL 117: September 26 – October 21, 1988
REEL 118: October 24 – December 8, 1988 (Reel digitized in reverse order – starts in December)
REEL 119: January 9 – February 8, 1989
REEL 120: February 9 – March 16, 1989
REEL 121: April 3 – 17, 1989
REEL 122: April 18 – June 8, 1989
REEL 123: June 26 – August 31, 1989
REEL 124: September 25 – October 31, 1989 (Reel digitized in reverse order – starts in December)
REEL 125: November 1 – December 7, 1989
REEL 126: January 8 – February 14, 1990
REEL 127: February 15 – March 15, 1990
REEL 128: April 2 – 27, 1990
REEL 129: April 30 – June 7, 1990
REEL 130: June 25 – August 30, 1990
REEL 131: September 24 – October 26, 1990
REEL 132: October 29 – December 6, 1990
REEL 133: January 7 – March 14, 1991
REEL 134: April 1 – Mary 8, 1991
REEL 135: May 9 – June 14, 1991
REEL 136: June 24 – August 29, 1991
REEL 137: September 23 – October 31, 1991
REEL 138: November 1 – December 5, 1991
REEL 139: January 6 – February 5, 1992
REEL 140: February 6 – March 13, 1992
REEL 141: March 30 – May 11, 1992
REEL 142: May 12 – June 13/14, 1992
REEL 143: June 22 – August 24, 1992
REEL 144: September 21 – October 30, 1992
REEL 145: November 2 – December 3, 1992
REEL 146: January 11 – March 18, 1993
REEL 147: April 5 – May 4, 1993
REEL 148: May 5 – June 10, 1993
REEL 149: June 28 – August 30, 1993
REEL 150: September 27 – October 29, 1993
REEL 151: November 1 – December 9, 1993
REEL 152: January 10 – March 17, 1994
REEL 153: April 4 – May 4, 1994
REEL 154: May 5 – June 19, 1994
REEL 155: June 27 – August 29, 1994
REEL 156: September 26 – October 31, 1994
REEL 157: November 1 – December 8, 1994
REEL 158: January 9 – February 10, 1995
REEL 159: February 13 – March 16, 1995
REEL 160: April 3 – May 19, 1995
REEL 161: May 22 – June 18, 1995
REEL 162: June 26 – September 3, 1995
REEL 163: September 25 – November 9, 1995
REEL 164: November 10 – December 7, 1995
REEL 165: January 8 – 30, 1996
REEL 166: February 1 – March 14, 1996
REEL 167: April 1 – June 16, 1996
REEL 168: June 24 – September 1, 1996
REEL 169: September 23 – December 5, 1996
REEL 170: January 6 – March 13, 1997
REEL 171: March 31 – June 9, 1997
REEL 172: June 30 – August 31, 1997
REEL 173: September 22 – October 20, 1997
REEL 174: October 21 – December 4, 1997
REEL 175: January 12 – February 17, 1998
REEL 176: February 18 – March 19, 1998
REEL 177: April 6 – June 19, 1998
REEL 178: June 29 – August 31, 1998
REEL 179: September 28 – December 14, 1998
REEL 180: January 11 – March 18, 1999
REEL 181: April 5 – June 18, 1999
REEL 182: June 28 – September 3, 1999
REEL 183: September 24 – October 29, 1999
REEL 184: November 1 – December 13, 1999
REEL 185: January 10 – March 16, 2000
REEL 186: April 3 – June 16, 2000
REEL 187: June 30 – September 1, 2000
REEL 188: September 25 – October 20, 2000
REEL 189: January 8 – March 15, 2001
REEL 190: April 2 – June 11, 2001
REEL 191: June 25 – September 12, 2001
REEL 192: September 23 – October 31, 2001
REEL 193: November 1 – December 10, 2001
REEL 194: January 7 – March 14, 2002
REEL 195: April 1 -30, 2002
REEL 196: May 1 – June 10, 2002
REEL 197: June 24 – September 11, 2002
REEL 198: September 26, 2002 – October 18, 2002
REEL 199: October 21 - December 9, 2002

The Daily Bruin went online in Fall Quarter, 1994: http://dailybruin.com/