Chicana and Chicano Studies in Library Special Collections

LSC is committed to remediating harmful description by creating and implementing an anti-oppressive approach to discovery and access. We aim to:

• Be clear about what we know, how we know it, and what we don't know
• Embrace baseline description as a tool to improve the discoverability of all our materials
• Demonstrate an understanding that description is a continuous and necessarily iterative endeavor

Read more about our past and current approaches to description in Toward Ethical and Inclusive Descriptive Practices in UCLA Library Special Collections.

Title: "Untitled" by Tony Iniguez and Quintion Brown
Project : Tovar (Nancy) Murals of East LA Collection 

This guide assembles a selection of UCLA Library's primary source holdings in Chicana and Chicano history and is intended as a starting place to point researchers to significant collections that cover the history of Mexicans in North America. Included in this guide are materials for the study of all periods of Chicana/o history pre-dating the Mexican American War and extending to the present. It also serves as a basic orientation on using Library Special Collections holdings.

Quick Tips

• Try searching the Online Archive of California (OAC) first.  Generally speaking, the most detailed online descriptions of our collections can be found in the OAC. 
• The UC Search is an excellent resource for locating rare and out of print books and periodicals. 
• Frontera
• Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive
• Many digitized photographs are available online through the UCLA Digital Library and Calisphere
• Chicano Studies Research Center