Librarian
Michelle Brasseur
she/her
Contact:
Young Research Library, Level A
Subjects: History, Language & Literature
Government Information and Data for History Research
For in-depth research guidance on British Parliamentary Papers, see this guide:
British Government Information (selected links)
For more in-depth research guidance with British government documents, please consult the British Parliamentary Papers Research Guide created by our British government documents librarian.
- British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential PrintFrom this link, do a title search for "British Documents on Foreign Affairs." Available in a number of multi-volume series, organized geographically and chronologically, e.g., Series A, Russia, 1859-1914.
- British History OnlineBritish History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
- Colonial State Papers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries.
- CRL - Government PublicationsA list of microfilm collections pertaining to government information of the United States, Great Britain, and elsewhere.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the British Parliamentary Papers, 1801-2016. Includes bills and acts, command papers, House of Commons papers, and more.
- The National Archives (UK)This site includes online collections and extremely useful research guides for finding particular types of documents and records.
- Parliament Rolls of Medieval England This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I until the reign of Henry VII (1272 - 1509). Reproduces the rolls edited in Rotuli Parliamentorum (RP), plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles, as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published. Accompanied by full translations of all the texts (originals in Latin, Anglo-Norman, and Middle English).
Legal History
Be sure to consult the Hugh and Hazel Darling Law Library guides on Law and Legal Research for more detailed guidance on resources related to legal history.
- Old Bailey Online (1674-1913)The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913. Search texts from 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of 19th and early 20th century Anglo-American legal treatises, derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies: the 19th Century Legal Treatises and 20th Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections.
- Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of trials, based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York. Contains trials conducted in England, especially in the earlier time periods.