Librarian
Finding Full Text
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
Most Used Databases
History Databases
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical scholarship on the British Isles, and the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55BC to the present. Because it is a bibliography, there is no full-text access within this database, so be sure to use UC-eLinks to find out how to get access to the content. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from major journals in many disciplines. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Repository of scholarly journals. Warning: does not contain the most recent 3-5 years. If you only search JSTOR, you may be missing a lot. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.