Get Help
City and County Directories at UCLA
The UCLA Library holds a multitude of directories for Los Angeles City and County, all of which can be found in the UCLA Library Catalog.
Selected Los Angeles City Directories are also available digitally from the Los Angeles Public Library.
- Southern California Blue Book of MoneyCondon, James Edward, 1913
- Business Directory of Los AngelesFoster Directory Company, 1911-1912
- Southern California Blue Book1903-1906, 1908-1909
- Southwest Blue Book1910-1911, 1913-1916, 1918-1939, 1941-1974
- Los Angeles Blue Book1894-1895, 1921-1925, 1927, 1930, 1932, 1939, 1941-1944, 1946-1956, 1959-1962, 1964-1967, 1969-1974, 1976-1978, 1983-1986
- Great Register of Los Angeles County, State of California1877, 1879, 1880, 1884, 1886, 1888, 1890
- Los Angeles City Directory, 1878Smith, Aaron
- Los Angeles Red Book1927, 1929
- The Attorney's Directory and HandbookLos Angeles, 1947
Population Statistics and Information
The UCLA Library has a definitive guide to the United States Census Statistics and Information as well as an in depth guides for Neighborhood Research and Community Analysis and analyzing Social Statistics and Data which provide an abundance of resources for population analysis of local communities and neighborhoods.
- United States Census Statistics and InformationThis guide provides information about the various ways to get information from the U.S. Census.
Corporate and Business Records
The following are some of the corporate and business records related to Jewish-owned businesses in Los Angeles. These and more can be found through the UCLA Library Catalog.
- The Montebello TractK. Cohn & Co. (Los Angeles, CA: [n.d.]).
- Fifty Years of Banking Service Under Conservative Management, April 10, 1871 - April 10, 1921Farmers and Merchants National Bank of Los Angeles (Los Angeles, CA, 1921)
- The Members' Annual / Issued by the Board of Directors, Los Angeles Chamber of CommerceLos Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce. Board of Directors (Los Angeles, CA: 1898, 1901, 1907-1912, 1914, 1917, 1919-1922, 1924, 1928, 1962)
- The Bank and the Community; A History of the Security Trust & Savings Bank of Los Angeles, 1889-1929Douglas, J. R. (Los Angeles, CA: Security Trust and Savings Bank, 1929)
Maps and Cartographic Resources
The UCLA Library has an abundance of maps and cartographic resources, as well as a research guide for those materials available at the Library (see link below). Also listed here are finding aids for the major collections of maps housed in the Department of Special Collections.
City and Municipal Archives
- Office of the City ClerkIncludes City Archives and Records Center, which has City Council records.