Librarian for Jewish and Israel Studies
Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
E-journal Collections (A-E)
This page contains links to e-journal collections covering Jewish Studies. Some are freely available, others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus. Please note that not all issues of all journals will be available electronically.
- American Jewish Archives Journal Vol. 1 (1948)-
- American Jewish History
This link opens in a new window
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ's mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.
E-journal Collections (F-Z)
- Hebraic Political Studies Hebraic Political Studies is an international, peer-reviewed journal published by Shalem Press, and edited by a board of scholars headed by Dr. Arthur Eyffinger of the Huygens Institute in The Hague and Professor Gordon Schochet of Rutgers University...
- Historical Society of Southern California Quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- This link opens in a new window
- Legacy: Journal of the Southern California Jewish Historical Society
- This link opens in a new window
- Mathal/Mashal: Journal of Islamic and Judaic Multidisciplinary Studies "...a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to scholarly discussion of topics present in the Islamic and Jewish traditions, cultures, and practices especially in the area where thematic and doctrinal aspects are common. The first issue will be published in 2011..."
- The Southern Californian
- This link opens in a new window
- Southern California Quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
Databases
This online resource contains digitized manuscript materials covering the history of Jewish communities through the mid-20th century, including letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical newspapers, including the Los Angeles Times, of which UCLA subscribes to a subset.