Music Resources in Library Special Collections

The Music Library serves as the center for music research, study, and enjoyment at UCLA. Its collections and services support the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music and the music community of Southern California.

With over 150,000 sound and audiovisual recordings, the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive is among the largest ethnographic archives of its kind in North America. Our collections include non-commercial field recordings and commercially produced recordings of traditional, folk, popular, and art musics from Africa, Asia, Australia and the Pacific Islands, Europe, the Middle East, and the Americas on a variety of audiovisual formats.

The CSRC Library's holdings consist of monographs, periodicals, subject files, dissertations and theses, as well as original prints by Chicana/o artists, films, videotapes, audio recordings, slides, and over 120 archival and manuscript collections.

A significant collection for the study of American cinema. Holds more than 60,000 screenplays, as well as valuable production files, oral histories, special collections and manuscripts, and more.

USC holds the Warner Bros. Archives, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation Library, plus additional studio collections, scripts, archival stills, and many other materials.

Holds over 5,000 unpublished scripts from contemporary and classic American films. Also includes books, periodicals, AFI seminar and oral history transcripts, and archival collections from Martin Scorsese, Fritz Lang, and more.