eBook Highlights
Trivia Question
Q: How many books does the UCLA Library own?
A: Over 12 million! Learn more about the collection here.
UC Library Search
Search for books (along with articles and other library resources) using the UC Library Search!
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
What if UCLA doesn't have what I'm looking for?
Never pay for an article online! If you are looking for something that you can't find through UCLA Library, you can request it via our FREE Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. Click on the link below to find out how to use ILL.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Instructions for making an interlibrary loan request for materials not located at UCLA.
Useful Encyclopedias & Other Electronic Resources
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Academic encyclopedia of philosophy.
- Encyclopedia of ConsciousnessCovers major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states.
- Encyclopedia of the MindA unique feature of the encyclopedia is its coverage of computational perspectives on the mind.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles. - Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site.
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5According to the American Psychiatric Association, the DSM-5 "defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research." In addition to the DSM-5, the DSM Library includes: DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis; DSM-5 Clinical Cases; American Journal of Psychiatry; and other psychiatric references.
- MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable electronic texts in cognitive and brain sciences. Contains work from both from the MIT Press, as well as links to resources from other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals. - AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- Neuroscience Experiment VideosWatch videos of neuroscience experiments.