Skip to main content

Cluster 73: Mind Over Matter: History, Science, and Philosophy of Brain

Librarian

Katherine Kapsidelis's picture
Katherine Kapsidelis

Your Inquiry Specialist

Your Inquiry Specialist for Cluster 73 is Jacy Black. Set up a consultation with Jacy to talk about research, writing, assignments, study skills, and getting settled in the Cluster program and at UCLA!

      Jacy Black

            Learn more about Jacy

Translate This Page!

Access to Print Resources (as of 3/20/20)

 

As part of UCLA's transition to remote instruction, and the Library's necessary decision to close all Library locations, access to print resources and special collections is not available. Please take advantage of electronic resources such as ebooks and article databases. The UCLA community can connect to these online resources off-campus via the VPN or proxy server. Interlibrary loan is still available for electronic journal articles; however, ebooks cannot be borrowed on interlibrary loan. You can also temporarily access digitized print books via HathiTrust, although you cannot download or print these books--only do screenshots.

The library is also extending access to our print collection beyond what's available in HathiTrust through the Pilot Emergency Temporary Digititzation on Request Service (PETDOR). Please review the PETDOR FAQ for guidance on using this service. 

For help with any of our resources, please schedule an appointment with a librarian (audio/video Zoom appointments available), contact your subject librarian directly, or use our 24/7 chat service.    

    

Books and Course Reserves
Library catalogs, course reserves, e-book packages, and reference sources

Research Articles
Browse e-journals and search article databases

Citing and Writing
Citation styles, writing resources, and information about plagiarism

Library Hours and Maps
Click here to find out when libraries are open and where to find them

Reading Recommendations
Check out some brain-related books your instructors, TF's, InqSpec, and Librarian like to read!

Contact Us
Make an appointment with your InqSpec or Librarian, get in touch through our 24/7 online chat service, or e-mail us!

To Google or Not to Google?

Google is one way to identify and locate materials relevant to your topic.  You must critically evaluate the content you find on the Internet to determine whether it is a worthy source. Beware of articles from content farms. Google is useful for finding news articles, websites, blogs, trade association and government publications, and other materials freely available on the Web.

What Google will not give you, in most cases, is access to full-text articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. The UCLA Library subscribes to numerous electronic databases that provide you with access to these articles for your academic research.

You need to enter the databases from the UCLA Library's website in order to download the articles for free. You can also use Google Scholar to identify articles that UCLA owns. Don't ever pay for an article online! Contact us and we will assist you with finding it.

Connect from Off-Campus

UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access Library subscription databases from off-campus using either of the following options.

Take a Virtual Tour of Powell Library

Take a virtual tour of Powell Library and learn more about the resources and support available to you!