E-books: Art and Art History
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Critical Collective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online initiative by art curator and critic Gayatri Sinha, working towards building knowledge in the visual and cinematic arts in India. Includes essays, e-books, and other writing about exhibitions, art history, and lens-based arts such as photography and film.
- Getty Publications Virtual LibraryThe Getty Publications Virtual Library contains more than 250 titles spanning its forty-year publishing history. Titles are searchable by title, author, and keyword and include full descriptions, tables of contents, links to read online, to purchase the print book, to find in a library, or to download the complete PDF for free for personal use.
- Guggenheim MuseumThe Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum offers more the 200 exhibition catalogs that you can download from its archives. Many of these volumes are associated with shows (both artist monographs and group exhibits) that are themselves considered major milestones in the development of 20th-century art history.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- MetPublicationsMetPublications is a portal to The Met's comprehensive publishing program with over 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.
- Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) Exhibition HistoryThe Museum of Modern Art’s exhibition history—from its founding in 1929 to the present. It includes exhibition catalogues, primary documents, installation views, and an index of participating artists.
- Online Scholarly Catalogue Initiative (OSCI)The Getty Foundation's Online Scholarly Catalogue Initiative (OSCI) launched in 2009 with the goals of rethinking the museum scholarly collection catalogue for the digital age and helping museums work together to transition to online publishing.
- Open Library (Internet Archive) This link opens in a new windowAn open, editable library catalog that offers lending of online books. Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. More information on use available online.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later.
- Project Muse E-books
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary in scope. Search and browse available books at this link.
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 2000 University of California Press books covering a range of topics. More recent online publications from UC Press can be searched for in the UCLA Library Catalog. On the Advanced Search screen, search for University of California Press in Publication Information and limit to online. Formerly eScholarship Editions.
- Wiley eBooks 2011-present
- This link opens in a new window
Includes books published 2011-present by Wiley books. Books designated as textbooks are not included, while selected books designated as reference works are available.