Additional resources and Finding Aids
Selected Digital Image Sites
Researchers and designers often require a broad range of historical visual images. Below are some resources that serve as good starting places, though many of them are more focused on fine arts (rather than film stills and documentation). Note that some resources require off-campus access privileges.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
High-resolution Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images are contributed by museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and estates, from a variety of sources including the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts. UC campuses contribute additional images including: the Archivision Library, Saskia Art & Architecture images, the Visual Resources Collections from UCB, UCSB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, and the UCSC Library Instructional Collection. Access includes several licensed resources through ARTstor's JSTOR Forum. Other institutions contribute open access digital media content.
- Google ImagesSearches images available via Google, of mixed size and quality.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Links images to related entries, covering major artists, periods, and styles. - UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.