Journals
These are some of the leading scholarly journals in the field. Browse the most recent issues if you are looking for a topic or want to see the direction of recent scholarship in the field. Most are available online through the UCLA Library Catalog.
- I Tatti studiesPublished by Villa I Tatti, the Harvard University Center for Italian Studies
- ViatorScholarly journal published by the UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Subject-Focused Indexes and Databases
These databases are more specialized and only index journals within a certain subject. Note that many of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold UC-eLinks button to do an automated search to find the full text, or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new windowCovers European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from European discoveries to the present, and contemporary art worldwide. Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals published from 1975-2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and covers from 2008 to the present. Contains some retrospective coverage, but for comprehensive research before 2008 it is essential to use BHA. Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Indexes publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, journal articles, reviews, essays, conference proceedings, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogues pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the RenaissanceAn an interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity during the Renaissance. The antique monuments known in the Renaissance are registered together with related Renaissance documents (texts and images), and information about locations, persons, periods, and bibliographic data. The Census is useful for art history and archaeology research, and for understanding the afterlife of antiquity.
- Art and Archaeology Technical AbstractsAbstracts articles from over 400 leading journals relevant to the international conservation field, as well as books and technical reports. Includes topics related to the preservation and conservation of art, architecture, and material cultural heritage. This system is free, but requires the individual user to register to take full advantage of searching options.
- Getty Research PortalProvides global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
General Databases
These databases contain article citations and/or full text articles across a range of subjects and disciplines.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes major journals across many disciplines. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are NOT included. Holdings vary by journal.