Renaissance Art

The Ashgate Research Companion to Giorgio Vasari brings together the world's foremost experts on Vasari as well as up-and-coming scholars to provide, at the 500th anniversary of his birth, a comprehensive assessment of the current state of scholarship on this important and still controversial artist and writer. Contributors examine the life and work of Vasari as an artist and architect and as a biographer of artists, and explore his legacy."

A Companion to Renaissance and Baroque Art provides a diverse, fresh collection of accessible, comprehensive essays addressing key issues for European art produced between 1300 and 1700, a period that might be termed the beginning of modern history.

This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on artists from Italy, Flanders, the Netherlands, Germany, Spain, and Portugal, historical figures and events that impacted the production of Renaissance art. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Renaissance art.

Richly illustrated, and featuring detailed descriptions of works by pivotal figures in the Italian Renaissance, this enlightening volume traces the development of art and architecture throughout the Italian peninsula in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries.

The Renaissance, French for ''rebirth'', was undoubtedly the most intensely creative period in history. This explosion of activity is reflected perhaps more than elsewhere in the art and architecture of the period. The legacy the artists, sculptors, tradesmen, architects, garden designers,engravers, and printers left behind can still be seen all over Europe today, not only in the things produced at the time but also in modern art, architecture, culture, and ways of thinking.

A Companion to Renaissance and Baroque Art provides a diverse, fresh collection of accessible, comprehensive essays addressing key issues for European art produced between 1300 and 1700, a period that might be termed the beginning of modern history.

Drawing on the most recent scholarship, this book is accessible to students and non-specialist readers, telling the story of art in the great centers of Rome, Florence, and Venice, while profiling a range of other cities and sites throughout Italy. While the book presents the classic canon of Renaissance painting and sculpture in full, it expands the scope of conventional surveys by offering a more through coverage of architecture, decorative and domestic art, and print media.

For survey courses in Italian Renaissance art. A broad survey of art and architecture in Italy between c. 1250 and 1600, this book approaches the works from the point of view of the artist as individual creator and as an expression of the city within which the artist was working.

Chronicling the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries and journeying from the Piazza San Marco to the villas of the Veneto, this vivid and authoritative survey of architecture, sculpture, and painting offers a rich perspective on the history and artistic achievements of Renaissance Venice.

This work provides an exploration of what Italian Renaissance writers, patrons, and viewers thought about the iconography of the works of art around them. Looking at a great number of period texts, this book shows how Renaissance people often struggled to understand even straightforward iconographic meaning, let alone veiled or difficult subject matter.

This publication offers a new, revised edition of a work that was hailed, when it first appeared, as the most useful art-historical reference book to have been published in recent decades. It is a Handbook of Sources, documenting and illustrating the most significant antique works of art known to Renaissance artists.

Daring in concept and astonishing in scope, The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts is a unique reference work: a topically classified chronology of more than 30,000 artworks from circa 1300 to the present day that take as their theme the subjects of Greek and Roman mythology.

The Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography (ECI) expands the scope of the thematic guide to art to include mythological, biblical, and literary themes that have been represented in art of all periods and media.