Mesoamerican and Pre-Columbian Art

Particularly strong in objects from the major civilizations of ancient Mexico. Collection includes ceramic funerary offerings from the West Mexican states of Nayarit, Colima, and Jalisco, jade figures produced by Olmec artists on the Gulf Coast, and textiles and ceramics from the ancient kingdoms of Peru. Browse collection by culture, place, or type of artwork.

Over 1000 digital images of pre-columbian objects in the museum's collection. Includes ritual objects, body adornment, ceramics and bural urns from pre-European contact cultures geographically ranging from Central Mexico to the coast of Peru. Browse through images or sort by attributes including culture.

Digital images of over 750 objects from the museum's ancient American art holdings. Browse images or search by culture or object type.

This collection is part of Mesoweb and includes more than 100 images with commentary by the photographer. Browse through images or use the index to see a complete list organized by culture.

Part of the FAMSI website, this database includes over 1000 rollout photographs of Maya vases taken by Justin Kerr. Search by vase type, iconography, or keyword.

Includes digital images of over 700 objects created during three thousand years of history in Mesoamerica, the Andes, and the intermediate area of Latin America. The collection includes stone sculpture, ceramics, architectural panels, small metal objects and textiles. Browse by culture, medium, or fieldwork photographs.

Part of the FAMSI website, this archive of photographs of Pre-Columbian objects created by Justin Kerr includes object dimensions, type, and location of origin, if known. Search by keyword or browse by location or culture.

In-depth visual documentation of four Maya cities in the Puuc region, Yucatan, Mexico. Includes 19th and early 20th century drawings, prints, and photographs of the cities before restoration efforts as well as over 1000 recent photographs that depict current restoration. Also inlcudes an annoted bibliography.

Collection of Barbara McKenzie's photographs from her trips to archaeological sites in Mexico and Central America from 1995-2004. Images are organized by archaeological site name and can be accessed through a map.

A free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.

Searches images available via Google, of mixed size and quality.