General Online Reference Resources
Use these reference resources to provide an overview of your topic. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
-
Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull-text, cross-searchable online library of several interdisciplinary reference books.
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later. Please note: UCLA Library has access to a selected number of Oxford reference titles, and not the entire set.
-
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowCovers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Information on Pacific Islands under Far East and Australasia section.
-
A Dictionary of PsychologyOver 11,000 authoritative and up-to-date entries cover all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics.
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
Specific Online Reference Sources
-
Dictionary of the Social SciencesCollecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume, the Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions of more than 1,500 important terms.
-
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesA scholarly encyclopedia covering disciplines of the social and behavioral sciences: Anthropology, Economics, Geography, Political Science, Psychology, Social Welfare, Sociology, and related fields and concepts.
-
Encyclopedia of Social ProblemsComprehensive approach to the field of social problems, utilizing experts from anthropology, biology, business, chemistry, communications, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, environmental studies, geography, health, history, languages, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and women's studies.
-
Encyclopedia of Social WorkIncludes coverage of areas including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.
Key Print Encyclopedias
style="float: right; width: 50%; margin-left: 10px;">
id="s-lg-widget-1444087543157">
-
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Call Number: Powell Library Main Reading Room Reference H40.A2 I5 2008ISBN: 9780028659657Date: 2007 -
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
by
ISBN: 0313327874Date: 20036 volumes. Vol. 1 covers Asia and Oceania. -
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
by
ISBN: 9780080430768Date: 2001Newer edition online.
