Search Tips
Determine whether the database considers multiple words as a single phrase, or a combination of words connected by OR (any of the words) or AND (all of the words). Ex. Academic Search Complete's default search is a phrase search (less results)—put each word into a separate box to get more results.
Use truncation symbols. Each database has its own truncation symbol (*, ?, $, #, !). Ex. engineer* will retrieve engineer, engineers, engineered, engineering, etc.
Use controlled vocabulary (or subject headings, descriptors, thesaurus) to ensure that items being retrieved are specifically on the topic of interest.
Use refine results features to narrow down results. Refine by document, publication, or literature type OR add terms like "survey paper" or "overview" into a keyword search box to find review articles.
For more tips on database searching, see Choosing and Using Library Databases.
Key Periodicals
Browse through these selected journals and magazines. To find more, see science and engineering e-journals A-Z by Subject.
- Popular scienceCeased in Winter, 2020.
- Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Journals from the American Association for the Advancement of Science, includes the journal Science.
- Economist, The (1997 - current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Weekly news magazine focused on international politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Click on Weekly edition and then click on Browse all editions. Select the year you want in the pull down menu on the right and search for the issue.
Newspapers
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic essays reviewing and summarizing the year's scholarship in specific fields, highlighting context, significance, and points of consensus or controversy. UCLA subscribes to only a subset of the Annual Reviews titles available, mostly in the social and life sciences. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. - Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts to over 5000 engineering journals from 1884 to the present, conferences and technical reports in the fields of chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics, communications, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. Coverage is from 1884 to the present; print equivalent is Engineering Index.
- CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Single-themed reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the US economy. Each report is footnoted and fact-checked and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The fundamental research tool in economics with bibliographic citations, and some abstracts, to the international literature on economics since 1969. Subjects covered include book reviews, business, economics, finance, industry and statistics. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- NTRL: National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and open access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of bills, resolutions, hearings, debates, and other legislative documents. Also contains Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Serial Set 1789-present, and legislative histories (through Legislative Insight).
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new windowCatalog of the National Agricultrual Library that indexes books and journal articles in the field of agriculture. Start with the "Search for Articles" link on the landing page.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the earth, atmospheric, and oceanic sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), the Oceanic Abstracts, and the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles which include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics: global warming, green building, ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Does not include Draft Standards. - Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles in over 4000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Most citations include abstracts. Full-text is available for many articles. Corresponds to the print publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts. 1969 to present; Inspec Archive 1898-1968.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database containing the bibliographic records of publications and proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Full-text available only for some journals. - Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the earth, atmospheric, and oceanic sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), the Oceanic Abstracts, and the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles which include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics: global warming, green building, ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database with abstracts of books, technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. related to earthquake engineering and earthquake hazards reduction published since 1971. Includes works on structural engineering, geotechnical engineering, and engineering seismology. Coverage is worldwide and includes more than 120 technical journals. Approximately 6,000 abstracts are added each year. - ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database containing the bibliographic records of publications and proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Full-text available only for some journals.
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database containing the bibliographic records of publications and proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Full-text available only for some journals. - Earthquake Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database with abstracts of books, technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. related to earthquake engineering and earthquake hazards reduction published since 1971. Includes works on structural engineering, geotechnical engineering, and engineering seismology. Coverage is worldwide and includes more than 120 technical journals. Approximately 6,000 abstracts are added each year. - Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes all Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) publications. Provides the full text of technical papers published since 1906, and journal articles published since 1998. - TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Transportation database that combines the records from US TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) and the OECD Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD). TRID provides access to over 940,000 records of transportation research worldwide.