Research Guides: Engineering 183: Engineering and Society: Reference Sources

Useful Reference Works

Use the UCLA Library Catalog to find additional reference books. These reference books may provide an overview of your topic, define terms, or list the seminal authors and works in the field.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.

Encyclopedia of Energy Engineering and Technology (print)
Encyclopedia of Energy, Natural Resource, and Environmental Economics
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering
Encyclopedia of Physical Sciences and Engineering Information Sources (print)
A bibliographic guide to approximately 16,000 citations for publications, organizations, and other sources of information on 425 subjects relating to the physical sciences and engineering
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (print)
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics (print)
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology

Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.

Climate change mitigation [electronic resource] : a balanced approach to climate change
Climate change resilience in the urban environment
Design of high-speed railway turnouts : theory and applications
The ethics of ability and enhancement
Essays on the moral and ethical aspects of bioengineering and genetic engineering.
Geoengineering responses to climate change [electronic resource] : selected entries from the Encyclopedia of sustainability science and technology
The global impact of unconventional shale gas development : economics, policy, and interdependence
High speed rail and sustainability : decision-making and the political economy of investment
Articles on high speed rail projects, including one section devoted to the environmental, economic, and logistical impact of California's efforts.
The International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Knovel Library
Search/browse 2500+ science and engineering encyclopedias, handbooks, texts, and databases. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical & physical property data.
Nature-based solutions to climate change adaptation in urban areas : linkages between science, policy and practice
Rail Transport - Systems Approach

Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.