General
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Link searches both Alternative Press Index (1991-present) and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990). - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Think Tank / Advocacy Group Position Papers and Analysis
Usually not peer-reviewed but in many cases, written by experts. Sources included in the following databases may be advocating for a specific position on an issue or offer neutral analysis.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research and grey literature from the policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs, and NGOs. It covers many disciplines—agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, history, area studies, economics, sociology, political science, health, climate, diversity, sustainable development, and more. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- Center for Security Studies (ETH Zurich University)A one-stop information service in the fields of international relations and security. Among the services offered are: an annotated links library, a limited area search tool (ISN LASE), and a selection of resources on current world affairs.
- Human Rights WatchSelected publications
CRS Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a non-partisan public policy research arm of the United States Congress. CRS provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of CRS Reports from 1970 to present. Indexing goes back to 1916.
- Guide to CRS Reports on the WebIncludes narrative overview of CRS reports and what they are as well as links to sites with CRS Reports.
- Congressional Research Service ReportsThis collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. The products in this collection were created for the sole purpose of supporting Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties. New products are regularly produced to anticipate and respond to issues of interest to Congress on a timely basis.
- CRS Reports in Homeland Security/Terrorism and Health Law & PolicyFull-text access to Congressional Research Service Reports in the area of homeland security, terrorism, health law, and policy.
Browse Guides by Subject
style="float: right; width: 50%; margin-left: 10px;">
id="s-lg-widget-1458336353561">
id="s-lg-widget-1419298816926">