Overviews
- The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization
This link opens in a new window
- The Handbook of Globalisation, Third EditionThe Handbook of Globalisation published by Edward Elgar
- Handbooks and Encyclopedias in the UCLA Library CatalogLocate handbooks or encyclopedias related to global studies by putting in the following handbooks global? in the search box.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site. - Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic essays reviewing and summarizing the year's scholarship in specific fields, highlighting context, significance, and points of consensus or controversy. UCLA subscribes to only a subset of the Annual Reviews titles available, mostly in the social and life sciences.
- CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Single-themed reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the US economy. Each report is footnoted and fact-checked and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Background Information
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
News Sources
This is only a selected list of sources. Many also include transcripts of radio and television news programs. We also have access to other news sources/archives from different countries and in different languages.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Tips: Developing A Search, particularly the section on Search Connectors and Commands. NOTE: Looking for the LA Times? Nexis Uni only has the last six months. Use the LA Times via Proquest. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Tips: consult various search options listed in Free Text Search Builder. - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. - Keesing's Worldwide Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Tips: Choose "Newest First" in the pull down menu on the left hand side of the search result screen. - Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank.
Magazines
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications dating as far back as 1975. Also includes biographies, full text primary source documents, and an image collection.
Country Background
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic, and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available. - Daily Life through History (Academic) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes reference books, images, time lines and primary documents on a range of topics related to world history, folklore, and culture depicting essential activities of daily life across the globe and throughout history.