Research Guides: Animal Welfare and Alternative Models: Other Helpful Resources

Patient Care Handouts

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the AccessMedicine homepage, click on the "Patient Ed" tab to view the titles of the handouts. This resource includes approximately 100 patient education handouts on broad, common topics such as "macular degeneration." Each handout summarizes basic information about a condition and provides treatment options, and is between 1-3 pages in length. The handouts are drawn from the archive of McGraw-Hill's Postgraduate Medicine: The Practical Peer-Reviewed Journal for Primary Care Physicians.

Essential Evidence Plus
Provides links to government and organizational web sites that provide patient information about topics.
more...less...
Essential Evidence Plus consists of DailyPOEMs, which can be searched or sent by e-mail, and the InfoRetriever database which includes POEMs, Cochrane Database abstracts, web-based guidelines, treatment guideline summaries, clinical decision rules, diagnostic test calculators, H&PE calculators, the 5-Minute Clinical Consult, and an ICD-9 lookup tool.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. MedlinePlus pulls together quality health information from a variety of sources, and includes information on drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, health news, and much more. Most content is available in Spanish and various other languages. It does not include printable patient care handouts, but it is free. It can be accessed on any computer with a web browser and an Internet connection.

MICROMEDEX
From the Micromedex splash page, select "CareNotes System." Use the search box to search for topics, or use the tabs at the top to browse the available handouts.
more...less...
This resource's patient handouts are in a separate area called "CareNotes." The handouts are extensive and are organized into major categories: General Information; Precare; Inpatient Care; Discharge Care; Aftercare Instructions (ER); and DrugNote. This resource is notable in that it includes dental information, drug infomation, and precare and aftercare instructions for a variety of patient and outpatient procedures, including laboratory tests.
STAT!Ref - Medicine
All three of our STAT!Ref products provide access to AAFP Conditions A-Z, and USP DI Advice for the Patient.
more...less...
These books provide basic and advanced information about a variety of conditions and treatments. Most chapters are also available in Spanish.

From the STAT!Ref homepage, use the search box to search for your topic, and review your list of results in the left-hand pane. There will be a section titled "Patient Information." Click on this section to review the information available. You can also click on the "Titles" tab at the top of the scree to view chapter titles in the books listed above.

Animal Welfare Information Center
"The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) is mandated by the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) to provide information for improved animal care and use in research, testing, teaching, and exhibition. " A comprehensive list of AWIC species specific publications are available under the "Publications" tab.
USDA AWIC Tweets!
Stay easily up to date with current animal welfare topics and publications by following the USDA AWIC on Twitter!
Animal Use Alternatives (3Rs)
The “3Rs alternatives” refers to the replacement, reduction, and refinement of animals used in research, teaching, testing, and exhibition.