Research Guides: Animal Welfare and Alternative Models: Databases

Before You Begin

Before you begin searching, please be sure to read through the Searching Techniques page.

Core Databases

is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.

Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text.

For more tips, see our guide on database searching.

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new window
Created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators, AGRICOLA covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.

ALTBIB
The National Library of Medicine's database on resources on alternatives to the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing.
Altweb
Comprehensive center for information on alternatives to animal testing.

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in all areas of biology, related fields such as medicine and ecology, and interdisciplinary areas such as biochemistry and biotechnology.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of the applied life sciences including: agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition. A great resource for animal alternatives research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This search system provides access to the PubMed database of bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE, which indexes articles from about 3,900 journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences, dating from 1966 to the present.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection.
Combines Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality; Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B); COS Conference Papers Index; Ecology Abstracts; Environment Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Environmental Impact Statements: Digests; Health & Safety Science Abstracts; Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A); Pollution Abstracts; Risk Abstracts; Sustainability Science Abstracts; Toxicology Abstracts; and Water Resources Abstracts.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences; social sciences; and arts & humanities.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive index to zoological literature. Covers every aspect of zoology, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc.
index; reviews; zoological literature; biochemistry; ecology evolution

Protocols

>Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is published by the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory and includes protocols on a variety of topics: cell biology, imaging/microscopy, laboratory organisms, neuroscience, PCR, stem cells, and emerging model organisms. Select the general subject area you're interested in from the list below, or go to the main Cold Spring Harbor Protocols site and search for a specific topic.

>Protocols in Bioinformatics

>Protocols in Cell Biology

>Protocols in Genetics

>Protocols in Immunology

>Protocols in Molecular Biology

>Protocols in Neuroscience

>Protocols in Proteins and Proteomics

Current Protocols is a series of laboratory protocols published by Wiley. Search for "current protocols" in the Title field.

BioTechniques includes protocols on life sciences and physical sciences topics including bioinformatics, imaging, robotics/automation, model systems, molecular and cell biology, and analytic chemistry. The Biomedical Library provides access from 1997-present online; a print subscription covering years 1983-2008 is also available in the Biomedical Library shelved at call number W1 BI8764L.

Journal of Visualized Experiments: JoVE is an online journal publishing visualized (video-based) biological research studies.

Nature Methods and Nature Protocols include experimental and laboratory methods and protocols for bench researchers, primarily in biology and chemistry.

Plant Methods is an open access publication focusing on all aspects of plant biology.