Reference/Help
Demographic Data
The US Census Bureau collects and produces the most comprehensive data sets on demographic, socio-economic, and housing characteristics for the United States. In addition to national, state, regional, and place, statistics are available by zip codes, census tracts, and block groups (all of which can be used for neighborhood analyis).
- Explore Census Data (formerly American FactFinder)This is a new platform for accessing U.S. census data. American FactFinder moved to this new platform on March 31, 2020.
- Demographic Research, California Department of FinanceThe Demographic Research Unit (DRU) of the California Department of Finance is designated as the single official source of demographic data for state planning and budgeting.
- City of Los Angeles Department of City PlanningLos Angeles City Planning includes information and statistics on the Los Angeles City General Plan, Zoning, Development, Community Plan Areas (CPAs), Land Use, Transit, and Historic Preservation. Search the UCLA Library Catalog for Los Angeles (Calif.). Department of City Planning as an Author List (lastname firstname) for more reports issued by the department.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical census data, with census tracts from 1940 to 2000. Mapping feature lets you map variables for your neighborhood.
Statistical Abstracts and Compilations
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
- Yearbook of Immigration Statistics.US Department of Homeland Security, Office of Immigration Statistics. 2002-current online and 1979-2001 in print
Guides for Understanding the Decennial Census
- Census Questionnaires (2000 and 1990)Also includes links to Measuring America: the Decennial Censuses from 1790-2000, which contains all questionnaires.
- Census 2000 BriefsPublications that are useful for introducing the public to key Census 2000 population and housing data, e.g. Hispanic population, ancestry, foreign-born, etc. Each brief includes the Census question(s) from which the data are taken as well as definitions and tables on the topic.
- Census 2000 Special ReportsSpecial reports provide an in-depth analysis of Census 2000 population and housing topics, e.g. internal migration, un-married household populations.
- Subjects A-ZComplete index of census subjects and topics.
- Publications for Decennial Census Population and HousingAccess to current and historical census reports and briefs, technical documentation, etc.
Statistical Databases
- Explore Census Data (formerly American FactFinder)This is a new platform for accessing U.S. census data. American FactFinder moved to this new platform on March 31, 2020.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large archive of surveys useful in secondary analysis and quantitative research. Includes political and election studies, education studies, population research, economic attitudes and behavior, social indicators, and studies on health status from the United States and many countries worldwide. Searches of holdings are possible using author, title, keyword, or study number. For assistance, ask at the Data Science Center.