Reference/Help
Social Welfare: General
Search Tips: Do not use the full-text only option in databases as that feature will take out sources that we do have access to, just not through that those specific databses. Instead, use UC-eLinks to locate full-text option.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews from 1979 onwards. on community and mental health services, crisis intervention, family and social welfare, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, professional issues in social work, social and health policy, social services in addiction, social work education, social work practice, support groups/networks, violence, abuse, neglect, and welfare services. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers research, policy, and practice literature from 1970 to the present. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN) eLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SSRN provides access to 1000s of research publications in all disciplines. Search the library by title, author or journal/topic. Or communicate directly with authors listed in the author contact list. You may receive daily delivery of papers as authors release them. - Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 2,850 education journals, 550 books, and education-related conference papers.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The fundamental research tool in economics with bibliographic citations, and some abstracts, to the international literature on economics since 1969. Subjects covered include book reviews, business, economics, finance, industry and statistics.
Policy
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- RAND Publications This link opens in a new windowSearch the archive of over 17,000 RAND documents dating back to 1948.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Link searches both Alternative Press Index (1991-present) and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990).
Medical
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Crime/Deviant Behavior
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles and government documents on criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse. Based on the NCJRS Virtual Library collection. When available, full text is included.
Marketing and Business Sources
Below is a list of resources that may include article on pratical marketing strategies. Click on trade publication tabs where available in the search results.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Apply the Publication Type results limiter "Trade Publication" and/or "Periodical" to a search, or, on a results screen, Narrow Results by "Source Type" Trade Publications or Magazines. Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Sole electronic resource for full text Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Business and Company Resource CenterOnline access through Los Angeles Public Library or County of Los Angeles Public Library with current library card from either library systems.