Reference/Help
Major Newspapers about Los Angeles
Access to Library Licensed versions of key newspapers.
- Sacramento Bee
This link opens in a new window
UCLA has print and microfilm holdings of the Bee back to 1857. Please consult the UCLA Library Catalog. Available online from 1984 - 2021 through Access World News.
California County News
- California State Association of Counties PublicationsFree access to the latest issues of California Counties, Legislative Bulletin, Around our Counties, County Roster, and a Primer for County Managers. All are excellent sources for policy related issues at the county level.
News Databases
Search Tips: In most cases, do not limit your search to news sources from a particular geographical location unless you are conducting a content analysis type of study. If you are looking for news related to or about a place, search for that place in all available sources.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Tips: Developing A Search, particularly the section on Search Connectors and Commands. NOTE: Looking for the LA Times? LexisNexis only has the last six months. Use the LA Times via Proquest, in the Major Newspapers section on this page instead. - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Restricted to UC Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. It contains articles from as early as 1983, but a bulk of the coverage is from 1991 to the present. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
Non-profit
- Healthy CityAn information portal that offers access to the largest database of community resources (basic needs, health, criminal justice, education, environment, income security, mental health, etc.), demographic/health data, as well as interactive mapping.
- Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S., Encyclopedia of Associations: International Associations, Research Centers Directory, Market Share Reporter and more. Entries provide addresses (virtual and earthbound), other contact information, and detailed descriptions for more than 135,000 industry and trade associations, professional societies, research centers and more. Some titles include several editions.