General Reference
Research assistance in Genetics and Genomics is available at the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
E-journals in Genetics and Genomics
Browse e-journals in genetics and genomics from your Tablet, Phone, or Desktop using BrowZine! BrowZine is a browsable newsstand of the library's top journals. Easily discover, read, and monitor the key journals in your field.
Databases in Genetics and Genomics
Note that many of these sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
To access full text:
- Use the gold UC-eLinks button to do an automated search to find the full text
- Search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog, or
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
See entire list of Article Databases — Science and Engineering here.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citation index for articles in the Life Sciences - BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in all areas of biology, related fields such as medicine and ecology, and interdisciplinary areas such as biochemistry and biotechnology. - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie, and Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. Provides chemical data on organic substances and reactions, including structures, properties, bioactivity records, preparation details and specific reaction pathways; also provides citations and some abstracts to the primary organic chemistry literature.The MarvinSketch structure editor works with the campus VPN, but not the proxy server. - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article, patent, and conference references, the CAS Registry of 161 million chemical substances (many include property data) & CASREACT database of 126 million chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). Already registered? Go directly to SciFinder-n. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Database Tutorials
Want to learn more about SciFinder and Reaxys? These are two of the most popular chemical data and literature databases used in the field. To learn how to navigate them with optimal results, try these two multimedia online tutorials created by the UCLA Library and the UCLA Chemistry and Biochemistry department, featuring a UCLA Chemistry department graduate student! These include chapters on why to use these resources, how to search, using the chemical structure editors, working with results, and more! Hands-on practice is also included.
Searching Tutorials
- PubMed, MeSH and MyNCBI video tutorials (NLM)PubMed Essentials, complex searches, MeSH headings, custom filters and e-mail alerts.
- CINAHL Medline DatabasesBasic searching tutorial
- Web of ScienceThese tutorial videos cover BIOSIS Citation Index as well.