Key Resources
UCLA users with valid UCLA Logon IDs can access restricted resources from home using UCLA's Bruin Online proxy server or VPN (virtual private network).
All e-books and reference works can also be found in UC Library Search. To find additional e-books in the life and health sciences, see the Biomedical Library's Key Resources page.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A repository of fully searchable engineering content. Includes the latest editions of classics such as Marks; Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more. - AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- ACM BooksACM Books is a new series of books being published for the computer science community, managed by an editorial board that represents all major subject areas of computer science.
- American Chemical Society BooksPeer-reviewed books developed from the technical symposia of the ACS national and regional meetings. Along with chemistry, covers nanoscience, chemical education, polymers, renewable materials, medicinal chemistry, food and agricultural chemistry, and environmental science. Includes the earlier Advances in Chemistry series and The ACS Style Guide. Individual chapters can be downloaded as a PDF.
- American Geophysical Union BooksAGU publishes books on topics across the Earth and space sciences.
- American Society of Civil Engineers BooksIncludes all ASCE books.
- ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Metals and metallurgy.
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers eBooksASME Press publishes professional and reference works, handbooks, select non-ASME conference proceedings, as well as advanced monographs in established and emerging areas of interest to mechanical engineers and allied disciplines.
- Cambridge eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes most science and engineering titles from 2014 to present.
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complements the databases of CHEMnetBASE with dozens of resources, references, and CRC handbooks. Chemistry topics covered include: analytical, industrial and applied, inorganic, materials, medicinal, organic, physical, polymer, and surface & colloid. Also covers electrochemistry, geochemistry, fuels and petrochemicals, photochemistry, separation science/chromatography, and spectroscopy. - Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Morgan & Claypool collection of colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50-100 pages long and synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field. UCLA subscribes to collections 1-4.
- IEEE eBooksIEEE Xplore E-books provides Web access to more than over 1,000 eBooks from the fields of electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Individual chapters can be downloaded as a PDF.
- Landolt-BörnsteinLandolt-Börnstein content up to and including 2009.
- MIT Press Direct E-books, 1943-2021 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of e-books from MIT Press, including works in arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences disciplines.
- National Academies Press eBooksThe National Academies (National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council) ebooks and reports are freely available online. Registration may be required to download PDF versions.
- Royal Society of Chemistry eBooksOver 2,000 e-books are available digitized as fully-searchable pdf files in all areas of chemical science. Full books can be downloaded as a PDF.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OHE includes more than 38K computer science, engineering, business book titles from 200+ publishers, as well as video, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Includes pre-publication titles published by O'Reilly. Titles are HTML only. Replaces the Safari Tech Books Online collection.
Note: Access with Single Sign On after choosing University of California, Los Angeles from the list of institutions. Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at UC campuses. No community use.
- SIAM E-book This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SIAM books have been a leading source of knowledge for the world's applied mathematics and computational science communities - SPIE Digital Library (Books) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of 160+ optics and photonics titles. - SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search. - Synthesis Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An engineering and computer science collection of e-books, 50- to 100-pages long, in the form of "lectures" that each synthesize an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field. - Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fifteen databases, plus individual journals and e-books. Includes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts to over 5000 engineering journals from 1884 to the present, conferences and technical reports in the fields of chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics, communications, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. Coverage is from 1884 to the present; print equivalent is Engineering Index. - Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the earth, atmospheric, and oceanic sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), the Oceanic Abstracts, and the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - Earthquake Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database with abstracts of books, technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. related to earthquake engineering and earthquake hazards reduction published since 1971. Includes works on structural engineering, geotechnical engineering, and engineering seismology. Coverage is worldwide and includes more than 120 technical journals. Approximately 6,000 abstracts are added each year. - EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase provides essential biomedical evidence from evidence-based content, along with deep biomedical indexing and search forms to assist in building search strategies. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. - Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles in over 4000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Most citations include abstracts. Full-text is available for many articles. Corresponds to the print publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts. 1969 to present; Inspec Archive 1898-1968. - Materials Science & Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Featuring content from 1962 to present, supports numerous areas of both materials science research and engineering. Includes scholarly articles, as well as patents, conference proceedings, and government reports. - MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940, providing access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. - NTRL: National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and open access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie, and Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. Provides chemical data on organic substances and reactions, including structures, properties, bioactivity records, preparation details and specific reaction pathways; also provides citations and some abstracts to the primary organic chemistry literature.The MarvinSketch structure editor works with the campus VPN, but not the proxy server. - SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System Journals This link opens in a new windowDigital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 8.5 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article, patent, and conference references, the CAS Registry of 161 million chemical substances (many include property data) & CASREACT database of 126 million chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). Already registered? Go directly to SciFinder-n. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
- European Patent Office (Espacenet)The EPO provides users with high-quality online patent data from more than 80 different countries. They monitor the three main patent data streams (bibliographic, facsimile images and full text) at key stages in their life cycles to ensure that they are complete, consistent, accurate and up to date.
- Google PatentsGoogle Patents indexes more than 87 million patents and patent applications with full text from 17 patent offices.
- The LensThe Lens is an online patent and scholarly literature search facility, provided by Cambia.
- Patent Public SearchThe Patent Public Search tool is a new web-based patent search application from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
- PATENTSCOPEUsing PATENTSCOPE you can search 104 million patent documents including 4.3 million published international patent applications.
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database containing the bibliographic records of publications and proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Full-text available only for some journals. - ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of standards and technical engineering information. Covers aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- ETSI standardsEuropean Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI).
- The RFC SeriesContains technical and organizational documents about the Internet, including the specifications and policy documents produced by four streams: the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), the Internet Architecture Board (IAB), and Independent Submissions.
- ANSI StandardsSearchable database of American National Standards Institute (ANSI) standards to purchase.
- IEEE StandardsInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Includes relevant ANSI standards.