African and African American Newspapers Online
In addition to the specific newspapers listed below, you can also use the News guide that has links to many more newspaper sources.
- History Commons (North American Collections) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Previously titled Accessible Archives Complete. UCLA's access to historical sources includes 19th-century African American Newspapers (The Christian Recorder, The Colored American, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, The National Era, The North Star, Provincial Freeman, Weekly Advocate); Godey's Lady's Book (pt.2-3); The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog; and Pennsylvania Newspaper Record.
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features 280 newspapers from 35 states published for or by African Americans, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—titles include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds more. See also African American Newspapers Series 2. - African American Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), Southern News (Richmond, VA) and more. See also See also African American Newspapers Series 1.
- AFRINULThe African Newspapers Union List (AFRINUL) is a centralized electronic database of holdings information for newspapers (all formats and all languages) published in sub-Saharan Africa.
- allAfrica.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and archival news content in English and French from over 130 news organizations in Africa and worldwide, including government notices. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
- Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection searches primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.
- California EagleA major Los Angeles African American newspaper from 1879-1964. There is no index, but some articles are indexed in Blacks in Selected Newspapers, Censuses and Other Sources (YRL Reference Reading Room Z1361.N39 A116b)
- Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 18th and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery with a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersDigital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from from 1789-1963. Includes articles from African American newspapers.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of articles since 1959 from over two hundred publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. Includes the Los Angeles Sentinel. - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the US. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, including a number of newspapers relevant for African American studies, such as the Liberator.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Search all historical African American newspapers from Proquest to which UCLA subscribes.
- World Newspaper Archive (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American, African, Latin American, and South Asian newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. UCLA subscribes to a subset of this collection.