African/African American Databases & Websites
- Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Material on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Topics covered include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism and much more. Sources include books, periodicals and magazines articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, and theses and music recordings.
- AfricaBib.orgSix databases covering periodical literature about Africa. Includes the Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature (previously published by the Library of Congress).
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference books, monographs, primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, and statistics concerning African American history and culture. Contains over 4,000 interviews with former slaves; 67 Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s.
- African Diaspora This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1860-present, and includes digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. With content from The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London),
- African Digital Research RepositoriesThe International African Institute has compiled a list of known digital repositories within the African continent. It is comprehensive and will be regularly reviewed and updated.
- American Race Relations Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with firsthand analysis of race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.
- BlackPast.orgInformation on African American history and the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world. Full text primary documents and major speeches from the 18th Century to the present. Links to 100s of websites that address the global history of people of African ancestry including major black museums and archival research centers in the United States and Canada.
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 11,000 full text short stories from Africa and the African Diaspora.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including International Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience). - Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material. - Black Studies Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes both scholarly and popular press journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary, including cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues. Formerly titled International Index to Black Periodicals (IIPA).
- L.A. Rebellion: Creating a New Black CinemaIn the late 1960s, in the aftermath of the Watts Uprising and against the backdrop of the continuing Civil Rights Movement and the escalating Vietnam War, a group of African and African American students entered the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television, creating in decade of unmatched creativity in the history of Black Cinema.
- Statistical Data from the U.S. CensusLinks to a number of tables compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau from 1995 to the present on Black Population in the United States.
- Umbra: Search African American History This link opens in a new windowFree digital platform that brings together primary source content from numerous cultural institutions documenting African American history and culture. Includes images, text, sound, video, and physical objects.
