Subject Librarian
News Databases
The UCLA Library subscribes to the following news databases. If you have not already done so, you will need to configure your computer if you are connecting from off-campus.
- Access World News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 875 U.S. and over 1800 international sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of articles since 1990 from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press, along with archival material dating back to the mid 1980s. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, etc. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 1986. - Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2015].
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2019].
- World News Connection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English language news compiled from foreign media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events from 1995 through 31 December 2013. Includes FBIS Reports from 2002-2005.
Pacific Islands News
RSS feed of Pacific Islands news from the New Zealand Herald.
Loading ...
Online News
The following are links to freely-available online newspapers and news sources from the various Pacific Islands.
- Cook Islands HeraldAvailable online until September 2015. (The publisher seems to have gotten into legal trouble with the government.)
- La Dépêche de TahitiIn French.
- Fiji LiveFiji Live provides local, business, and sports news.
- Hawai'i Free PressAn alternative twice-monthly newspaper published in Hilo, Hawaii since January 2005
- Honolulu Star-Advertiser [Hawaii]Largest daily newspaper in the state of Hawaii.
- Les Nouvelles CalédoniennesIn French.
- Matangi Tonga OnlineOnline English-language paper that covers local Tongan, South Pacific and world news.
- Maui News (Hawaii)Maui daily newspaper
- The New Zealand HeraldDaily newspaper that comprehensively covers world, regional and local news
- Otago Daily Times [New Zealand]Daily newspaper based in New Zealand covering regional, national and world news
- Pacific Daily News [Guam]Daily newspaper with headlines and stories covering Guam, Micronesia and the Pacific Rim region, along with breaking news from the United States and the world.
- Pacific Islands ReportDaily Pacific Islands news compiled by the University of Hawaii's Centre for Pacific Islands Studies
- Papua New Guinea Post-CourierLargest daily newspaper based in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
- Radio New Zealand InternationalRadio broadcasts from New Zealand to the Pacific Islands. Includes news and programming of interest to its audience, in audio, text, and photographic format.
- Samoa News [American Samoa]Offers news updates, public notices, job announcements, community events, and archives.
- Samoa ObserverLocal and regional news source
- Solomon StarSolomon Islands' daily, English language newspaper
- Tahiti InfosYou can "Select Language" at the top of the page.
- Tahiti NewsIn French.
- Tonga Broadcasting CommissionState-owned broadcaster offering daily news.
- The Vanuatu Daily PostNewspaper in Vanuatu covering local news
- Vanuatu Daily DigestA blog which gathers together important news reports and critical commentary concerning Vanuatu from various media outlets.
- West Hawaii TodayDaily newspaper based in Kailua-Kona, Hawai'i.