Subject Librarian
What Are Reference Sources?
Reference sources are authoritative works that you can refer to for quick information. They may contain specific information or introductory articles. Types of reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, bibliographies, and so on.
Encyclopedias
Some of these selected encyclopedias are available online; some are only available in print. To find other encyclopedias related to the Pacific Islands, search for "encyclopedias oceania" or "encyclopedias pacific" in the UCLA Library catalog.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, vol. 8: The Americas & Oceania [electronic resource] by Call Number: GE140ISBN: 9781933782188Date: 2012This book provides extensive coverage of sustainability practices in two regions linked culturally and historically by their relative isolation before the Columbian exchange, by their colonization after it, and by the challenges of pollution, resource overuse, and environmental degradation. Regional experts and international scholars focus on environmental history in areas such as the South Pacific islands, which are threatened by rising ocean levels due to climate change.
Encyclopedia of Prehistory, vol. 3: East Asia and Oceania by Call Number: GN710 .E53 2001; in print onlyISBN: 0306462575Date: 2001The Encyclopedia of Prehistory, with regionally organized entries on each major archaeological tradition, is a comprehensive overview of human history from two million years ago to the historic period. Prepared under the auspices of the Human Relations Area Files, the Encyclopedia is organized regionally with entries on each major archaeological tradition, written by noted experts in the field.
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania by Call Number: GN625 .W47 2009; online access through HathiTrustISBN: 9780816071098Date: 2009An A-to-Z reference to the major peoples of the Asia-Pacific region. More than 400 entries describe these people's history, migration, culture, belief system, social organization, and relationship to other peoples.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 by Call Number: JV22 .E535 2007; online access through HathiTrustISBN: 9780028658438Date: 2007A comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and its expansion. This set traces colonial growth and imperialism, including Europe's overseas expansion; the collapse of empires; race relations in decolonized regions; and the developing world's continuing dependence on Western nations. A number of articles also address the ideology and theories behind colonialism and imperialism.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures, vol. 2: Oceania by Call Number: GN307 .E53 1991; online access through HathiTrustISBN: 9780816118090Date: 1991This volume contains nearly 150 articles, averaging 2000-2500 words in length, describing a wide and representative range of the Southwestern Pacific's many peoples. Most of the accounts are by anthropologists who have worked for decades with the people they chronicle. Entries include information on geography, language, history, economy, kinship, sociopolitical organization, religion, and art.
Europa World Plus: The Far East and Australasia [electronic resource]Restricted to UCLA users. This revised online edition of The Far East and Australasia comprises a comprehensive survey of the countries of East Asia, Southeast Asia, Australia and New Zealand, and 22 Pacific islands. Includes introductory essays by acknowledged experts that provide incisive analysis of regional issues, such as an examination of changing diplomatic relations between the U.S. and China, the impact of the coronavirus pandemic on trade, and the progress of China’s Belt and Road Initiative.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Australia and the Pacific Islands [electronic resource] by Call Number: ML100 .G16 1997ISBN: 0824060385Date: 1998This encyclopedia summarizes research on the music of all the world's peoples. This volume focuses on the traditions of the Pacific Islands.
The Pacific Islands: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: DU17 .P3 2000; online access through HathiTrustISBN: 9780824822651Date: 2000An encyclopaedia of information on major aspects of Pacific life, including the physical environment, peoples, history, politics, economy, society and culture.- Political and Economic Encyclopaedia of the Pacific by Call Number: HN930.7.A8 P6 1989; online access through HathiTrustISBN: 1558620338Date: 1989Focuses on politics, government, and economic conditions in the Pacific Islands.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, vol. 4 : Asia & Oceania by Call Number: G63 .W67 2007; online access through HathiTrustISBN: 9781414410890Date: 2007Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations presents easy-to-understand information on countries and dependencies from around the world.
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, vol. 7: Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands [electronic resource] by Call Number: GT 507 .E54 2010ISBN: 9781847888563Date: 2010Collectively, the Pacific Islands, Australia and New Zealand represent a varied and culturally complex region. It is home to peoples leading time-honored ways of life, those gradually accepting cultural changes and those inhabiting industrialized society and engaging with all the trappings of the modern world. The influence of colonialism, trade, Aboriginal and Pacific Islander heritage, and the significance of the environment on bodily adornment are some of topics thoroughly addressed in this volume.- Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture: vol. 6, Asia and Pacific Oceania [electronic resource] by Call Number: HM621ISBN: 9780313086878Date: 2007This encyclopedia covers the major industrial and postindustrial expressions of popular culture. This includes film; games, toys, and pastimes; literature (popular fiction and nonfiction); music; periodicals; and radio/television. It also examines the lifestyle dimensions of popular culture, including architecture; dance; fashion and appearance; food and foodways; love, sex, and marriage; sports; theater and performance; and transportation and travel.
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices [electronic resource] by Call Number: BL80.3ISBN: 9781598842036Date: 2010This masterful six-volume encyclopedia provides comprehensive, global coverage of religion, emphasizing larger religious communities without neglecting the world's smaller religious outposts.
Online Language Dictionaries
Here are a number of freely-available online dictionaries. Most are based on old dictionaries compiled by missionaries.
- Dictionary of the Maori LanguageDigitized version of the 1957 edition.
- Maori-Polynesian Comparative DictionaryDigitized version of the 1891 work.
- Delaporte's Nauruan DictionaryEnglish-Nauruan-German dictionary based on Delaporte's 1907 work.
- Grammar and Dictionary of the Samoan Language, with English and Samoan vocabularyDigitized version of the 1984 reprint of the 1893 work.
- Austronesian Basic Vocabulary DatabaseProvides links to word lists in a wide variety of Austronesian languages.
Topical Dictionaries
Most of these selected topical dictionaries are available online; two are available in print only. To find other dictionaries--both subject and linguistic, search for "dictionar? oceania" or "dictionar? pacific" in the UCLA Library catalog. Also look under subregion (i.e., Micronesia, Melanesia, or Polynesia) or individual country/territory/island.
- Historical Dictionary of the Discovery and Exploration of the Pacific Islands / Max Quanchi, John RobsonOnline access through HathiTrust.
- Oceania: An Introduction to the Cultures and Identities of Pacific Islanders / Andrew Strathern . . . [et al.]Online access through HathiTrust.
- Historical Dictionary of Papua New Guinea / by Ann TurnerOnline access through HathiTrust.
- Historical Dictionary of New Zealand / Keith Jackson, Alan McRobieOnline access through HathiTrust.
- Historical Dictionary of Australia / James C. DochertyOnline access through HathiTrust.
- Dictionary of Polynesian Mythology [electronic resource] / Robert D. Craig
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographies
The following are selected bibliographies on the Pacific islands. Six of them are accessible online; four of them are available in print only. Bibliographies are compilations of resources on a specific subject and are useful for finding additional sources. Though some of these are dated, they are still helpful in finding classic or rare works about the islands. If you find something in these bibliographies that are not owned by the library, we can likely get it for you through interlibrary loan.
- Australasia and South Pacific Islands Bibliography / John ThawleyOnline access through HathiTrust.
- Pacific Basin and Oceania / Gerald W. Fry, Rufino MauricioOnline access through HathiTrust.
- Pacific Island Studies: A Survey of the Literature / Miles M. Jackson, editor-in-chiefOnline access through HathiTrust.
- A Pacific Bibliography; Printed Matter Relating to the Native Peoples of Polynesia, Melanesia, and Micronesia / by C.R.H. TaylorOnline access through HathiTrust.
- Pacific Island Bibliography / by Floyd M. Cammack and Shiro SaitoOnline access through HathiTrust.
- The Art of Oceania: A Bibliography / Louise Hanson and F. Allan HansonOnline access through HathiTrust.
Biographies
These are licensed resources. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen.
Recommend a Reference Resource?
Is there a reference resource that you think the library should have? You can recommend a book purchase here.