Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Selected Images and Stills
Cashin's Illustrations of Costume Designs for Theatrical Productions and Events, circa 1951-1954
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Actors James Earl Jones and Jill Clayburgh in Los Angeles Stage Production of "Othello", 1971
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Barbara Alston, Hal Williams, Erik Kilpatrick, and David Downing at Black Ensemble rehearsal at Los Angeles Theatre Center, Calif., 1986
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Welcome
Welcome to the UCLA Library guide to researching theater in Los Angeles, with a particular emphasis on UCLA collections and local resources. It was created in Summer 2022 by Library Student Research Assistant Marie Fucile, a graduate student in the UCLA School of Theater, Film, and Television.
Below you can find some related subject guides to supplement your research.
In the News
- "LA’s Regional Theaters Struggle To Get Back To Pre-Pandemic Stability"From LAist, by Robert Garrova and Divya Prakash, 6/20/2023.
- "SoCal Theaters Struggle"From LAist, by Robert Garrova and Divya Prakash, 6/20/2023.
- "Will the Curtains Close on L.A.'s Live Theater Community?"From Los Angeles Magazine, by Jordan-Riefe, 6/29/2023.
Finding Resources
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Below are some suggested form subject heading searches for Los Angeles Theater through UC Search:
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies