Journal Article and Other Databases
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
-
EMBASE This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides essential biomedical evidence from evidence-based content, along with deep biomedical indexing and search forms to assist in building search strategies.
-
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles from 1969 to the present and ERIC documents since 1966 on educational research and practice. Searches combining different fields (e.g., descriptor with title, author or abstract) are possible at this site. Allows access to the full-text of most ERIC documents from 1996-present. Make sure 'ERIC' is checked before performing your search. Available from UC IP addresses only.
-
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database This link opens in a new windowThe Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
-
JBI Evidence SynthesisJBI Evidence Synthesis publishes systematic and scoping review protocols, diverse types of systematic reviews, and scoping reviews covering multi-disciplinary healthcare-related topics that follow methodology and methods developed by JBI. The journal also publishes editorials, letters to the editor as well as original applied research and discussion papers examining synthesis methods.
-
JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation ReportsJoanna Briggs Institute to promote and support evidence-based practice in healthcare. Access to evidence based resources and tools relating to all the health professions - medicine, nursing and allied health - as well as health policy makers, planners and executives. Articles from 2012 - 2019 are available within this database.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowIndex to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Database Tutorials
Review tutorials to learn to search databases.
-
PubMed for NursesThe following set of videos, designed specifically for nurses, provides an introduction to searching literature in PubMed.