Patient Care
These specialized sources may prove useful at various points in your research. All items listed below are located in the General Stacks unless otherwise indicated.
- Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing ImplicationsCall Number: QY 25 K26L 2010
- Nursing Care Plans & Documentation: Nursing Diagnoses and Collaborative ProblemsCall Number: WY 100 C294na 2009
- Nursing Education in Video: Second Edition This link opens in a new windowNursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
Patient Care Handouts
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowFrom the AccessMedicine homepage, click on the "Patient Ed" tab to view the titles of the handouts. This resource includes approximately 100 patient education handouts on broad, common topics such as "macular degeneration." Each handout summarizes basic information about a condition and provides treatment options, and is between 1-3 pages in length. The handouts are drawn from the archive of McGraw-Hill's Postgraduate Medicine: The Practical Peer-Reviewed Journal for Primary Care Physicians.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowMedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. MedlinePlus pulls together quality health information from a variety of sources, and includes information on drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, health news, and much more. Most content is available in Spanish and various other languages. It does not include printable patient care handouts, but it is free. It can be accessed on any computer with a web browser and an Internet connection.
- MICROMEDEXFrom the Micromedex splash page, select "CareNotes System." Use the search box to search for topics, or use the tabs at the top to browse the available handouts.
- AAFP Conditions A-Z via STAT!RefA patient-information tool that’s been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP).
Finding Drug Information
These specialized sources may prove useful at various points in your research. All items listed below are located online or in the Biomedical Library's Reference Stacks, (located behind the elevators on the 1st floor) unless otherwise indicated.
- Delmar Nurse’s Drug HandbookCall Number: QV 735 D359
Current edition shelved in Reference
- Medical Letter Online This link opens in a new windowThe Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, evaluations of drugs; Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter review articles of drug classes for treatment of common disorders; Adverse Drug Interactions Program searches drug interactions between 2 & up to 50 drugs; Drugs of Choice, a handbook on drugs of choice, and alternatives, for treatment of frequently-encountered illnesses; Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, Patient Education Brochures, summaries of treatment options use by patients.
- MICROMEDEXSearch for information about drugs and substances. MICROMEDEX includes the full-text of the PDR, USP-DI, Martindale’s, and many others. It also includes information about alternative therapies, patient handouts, and dosing tools. The database is updated quarterly, making it an ideal resource for information about new drugs.
- Mosby’s Nursing Drug ReferenceCall Number: QV 39 M8945 (Latest in Reference, older editions shelved in the Stacks)
- Nursing Spectrum Drug HandbookCall Number: QV 39 N97478 2005
- Lippincott Nursing Drug GuideLippincott Nursing Drug Guide provides broad coverage of the drugs commonly encountered by nurses and of drugs whose use commonly involves significant nursing intervention.
Patient Education/Consumer Health
Please note that the Biomedical Library does not specifically collect information for consumer health. The following is a listing of a few library sources that may be of some help for patient referrals. All items listed below are located in the General Stacks by call number unless othrwise indicated.
- Adherence to Pediatric Medical Regimens, 2nd ed.Rapoff, Michael A. 2010, via SpringerLink
- American Medical Association Family Medical GuideCall Number: WB 120 A512 2004 (Reference Stacks located behind the elevators on the 1st floor)
- Diseases: a Nursing Process Approach to Excellent Care4th ed. Call Number: WY 100 D6112 2006
- Educating Your Patient with Diabetes2009, via SpringerLink
- Effective Patient Education: A Guide to Increased AdherenceFalvo, Donna R. Call Number: W 85 F197e 2011
- Griffith's Instructions for PatientsCall Number: WB 18.2 M824g 2005
- Handbook for Mortals: Guidance for People Facing Serious IllnessLynn, Joanne, Joan Harrold, and the Center to Improve Care of the Dying, Call Number: WB 310 H236 1999
- The Harmony of Health: Sound relaxation for Mind, Body, and SpiritCall Number: WB 550 C187h 2006, CD-ROM WB 550 C187h 2006
- Health Promotion and Disease Prevention in the Older Adult: Interventions and RecommendationsSwanson, Elizabeth A., Toni Tripp-Reimer, and Kathleen Buckwalter, eds. Call Number: WT 100 H4348 2001
- A Healthier You: Based on the Dietary Guidelines for AmericansU.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Call Number: QU 145 H4335 2005
- Instructions for Surgery PatientsEconomou, Steven G. Call Number: WO 500 E19i 1999
- Making Informed Medical Decisions: Where to Look and How to Use What You FindOster, Nancy, Lucy Thomas, and Darol Joseff, Call Number: W 85 O85m 2000
- Managing Obesity : a Clinical GuideFoster, Gary D. and Cathy A. Nonas, eds. Call Number: WD 210 M2665 2004
- Mayo Clinic Family Health BookCall Number: WB 120 M473 2003 (Reference Stacks located behind the elevators on the 1st floor)
- Medicare Basics: a Guide for Families and Friends of People With MedicareU.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 2013
- Merck Manual of Medical Information2015, via merckmanuals.com. Print volume: Call Number: WB 130 M555 2003 (Reference Stacks located behind the elevators on the 1st floor)
- Mosby's Handbook of Patient TeachingCall Number: WY 49 C227m 2006
- Nurse's Handbook of Patient EducationPestonjee, Shirin Fali, Call Number: WY 49 P476n 2000
- Nurse's Toolbook for Promoting WellnessMiller, Carol A. Call Number: WY 87 M647n 2008
- Obesity: the Science InsideHealthy People Library Project, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Call Number: WD 212 O12 2006
- Our Bodies, Ourselves: a New Edition for a New EraThe Boston Women’s Health Book Collective, Call Number: WP 120 O93 2005
- Overcoming Communication Barriers in Patient EducationOsborne, Helen, Call Number: W 85 O81o 2001
- Pain Management for Older Adults: a Self-Help GuideCall Number: WL 704 P145715 2008
- Patient and Family Education in Managed Care and Beyond: Seizing the Teachable MomentBateman, William B., Elizabeth J. Kramer, Kimberly S. Glassman, eds. Call Number: W 130 AA1 P298 1999
- Patient Self-Management of Chronic Disease : the Health Care Provider’s ChallengeRedman, Barbara K. Call Number: WT 500 R318p 2004
- Patient Teaching Made Incredibly EasyCall Number: W 85 P29887 1999
- Practical Carbohydrate Counting : a How-to-Teach Guide for Health ProfessionalsWarshaw, Hope S., Karen M. Bolderman, Call Number: WK 818 W295p 2008
- The Practice of Patient Education : a Case Study ApproachRedman, Barbara Klug, Call Number: W 85 R318p 2007
- Promoting Treatment Adherence : a Practical Handbook for Health Care ProvidersO’Donohue, William T. and Eric R. Levensk, eds. Call Number: W 85 P965 2006
- Risk Matters in Healthcare: Communicating, Explaining and Managing RiskMohanna, Kay and Ruth Chambers, Call Number: W 85 M697r 2001
- Teaching Patients with Low Literacy SkillsDoak, Celia, Leonard Doak, and Jane Root, 2nd ed. Call Number: W 85 D631t 1996
- Understanding Pain: What It Is, Why It Happens, and How It's ManagedCall Number: WL 704 G696u 2007
- Women's Health Needs in Patient EducationRedman, Barbara Klug, Call Number: WA 309 R318w 1999
- When It's Cancer : the 10 Essential Steps to Follow After Your DiagnosisCall Number: QZ 201 B524w 2006
- When the Focus Is on Care : Palliative Care and CancerCall Number: WB 310 W567 2004
Alternative/Complementary Therapies
All items listed below are located online or in the Biomedical Library's Reference Stacks (located behind the elevators on the 1st floor) unless otherwise indicated.
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural SupplementsCall Number: WB 39 S628m 2006
Natural Standard: the Authority on Integrative MedicineProvides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains three sub-databases: herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities.
Nursing Herbal Medicine HandbookCall Number: WB 39 N9747 2006
