Librarian
Ruby A. Bell-Gam
Contact:
Charles E. Young Research Library, A-1540
Subjects: Africa, Global & International Studies
Art, Art History
- ACASA newsletter [1982-2007 digitized by University of Florida]Newsletter of the Arts Council of the African Studies Association. Access courtesy of the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC).
- ACASA Newsletter [electronic resource] 2008- currentSee also 1982-2007 print version available in SRLF; digitized version accessible on this page.
History
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- Sudanic AfricaThere is a free e-version that provides only selected fulltext articles along with the tables of contents.
- Sharpeville Massacre: Submissions presented to the Commission on behalf of the Bishop of JohannesburgTo download, print pages, etc., click on desired volume number. "See full PDF document (opens in new window)."
- South African History ArchiveThe South African History Archive (SAHA) is an independent human rights archive dedicated to documenting and providing access to archival holdings that relate to past and contemporary struggles for justice in South Africa.
Language Dictionaries
- Hausa-English Dictionary and English-Hausa VocabularyA Hausa-English Dictionary (39000 words) and English-Hausa Vocabulary (4600 words).
- Luganda PhrasebookCompiled by the Luganda Society (Kampala, Uganda)
- Somali English Italian Trilingual Online DictionaryProvided by RedSea Online
- Swahili: Kamusi ProjectOriginally developed at Yale University, this rich and dynamic Swahili-English-Swahili dictionary also includes current-news and social networking features. The "Project" accepts donations to support its ongoing development.
- Zulu: isiZulu.net Zulu Online DictionarySite includes other resources on the Zulu language.
Language, Literature
- African Language Materials Archive (ALMA)Includes primary source materials: videos, audio interviews and transcriptions, translations of these resources.
- African Languages and CulturesDetailed guide developed by Janet Kaaya.
- African Writers Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Heinemann African Studies Series (AWS), founded in 1962, covers a broad historical range of modern African fiction, from novels, poetry, and drama by black African authors. Most of the works in the series come from English-speaking countries in western, southern, and eastern Africa, but there are also a number of volumes translated from other languages. - Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes fulltext poems, plays, fiction, reference works, journal articles, and links to other Web resources for the study of literature-in-English, including African literatures in English.
- Literary Map of Africa - Ohio State University LibrariesCreated and updated by Miriam Conteh-Morgan
- Onitsha market literature [guide]Contents list of a collection of 78 indigenously published English language pamphlets from Nigeria of the "Onitsha market literature" genre comprising stories, plays, advice, moral discourses, and other forms of popular literature; pamphlets originally printed approx. 1948-1963.