Librarian
Ruby A. Bell-Gam
Contact:
Charles E. Young Research Library, A-1540
Subjects: Africa, Global & International Studies
Bibliographies
- A Current Bibliography on African Affairs[print edition] Reliable social sciences coverage since 1962-
- Africa BibliographyPublished by Cambridge U.P. on behalf of the International African Institute; 1984-
- Books in Print Global Edition This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information for in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from more than 44,000 North American publishers. Includes entries for fiction and non-fiction books on all topics.
- International African Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 140.000 entries published in the International African Bibliography from 1971 to 2015. The IABO can be browsed by categories and offers detailed search options.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: African StudiesAnnotated bibliographies for topics in the field of African Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
General Encyclopedias
- Encyclopédie du film africainLes cinémas d'Afrique: l'encyclopédie du film africain
- African Folklore: An EncyclopediaAfrican folklore: an encyclopedia, edited by Philip M. Peek and Kwesi Yankah (2004)
- Encyclopedia of AfricaEncyclopedia of Africa, edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (2010)
- Oxford encyclopedia of African thoughtOxford encyclopedia of African thought; editors in chief F. Abiola Irele and Biodun Jeyifo (2010)
- Encyclopedia of African religionEncyclopedia of African religion, edited by Molefi Kete Asante and Ama Mazama (2009)
- New encyclopedia of AfricaNew encyclopedia of Africa, edited by John Middleton and Joseph C. Miller (2008)
- Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and CultureEncyclopedia of the African diaspora: origins, experiences, and culture, edited by Carole Boyce Davies (2008)
- Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American ExperienceAfricana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience / edited by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., 2nd ed., 2005.
- Encyclopedia of twentieth-century African historyEncyclopedia of twentieth-century African history, edited by Paul Tiyambe Zeleza; deputy editor, Dickson Eyoh (2003)
Book Reviews
- ChoiceReviews.onlineConsists of a searchable database of reviews issued in the print magazine Choice (Chicago, Ill.) since Sept. 1988.
- International Bibliography of Book Reviews (IBR)
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains over one million entries about book reviews from 1985 onwards. It is international (mostly from Europe and the United States) and interdisciplinary and its reviews have been published in more than 6600 academic journals, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Resource Guides
- Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet ResourcesAn extensive searchable web-based guide to online information on Africa; frequently updated and managed by Karen Fung at Stanford University
- African Studies Companion Online: a guide to information sources
- This link opens in a new window
An indispensable handbook; continuously updated e-version of the printed 4th edition (2006); covers all categories of information. Print edition is available at the UCLA Library. - CODERSRIACouncil for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa / Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
- CSAE Working Paper SeriesCentre for the Study of African Economies Working Papers. The full papers are held as PDF (Portable Document Format)
- Guide to the CAMP archival collectionGuide to the Collection of the Cooperative Africana Materials Project. This page includes links to Catalog Records and Guides to some of CAMP’s most important collections.
Theses and Dissertations
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations. - WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 5 million dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution. UCLA students, faculty, and staff can request non-UCLA dissertations via interlibrary loan.