Selected Databases and Journals for Finding Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple literary sources, including: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Authors Series. Scroll down to click on Gale's Literary Index, a master index to the major literature products published by Gale.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that provides access to the literary criticism collections Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (CMLC), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Drama Criticism (DC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Shakespeare Criticism (SC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC). - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online. - International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to journals from Taylor & Francis, Routledge, and Psychology Press. UCLA subscribes to a subset of these titles. Please limit to (filter) by Access Type to “Only show content I have full access to.” - UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- Fafnir: Nordic Journal of Science Fiction and FantasyFounded in 2014, Fafnir is a World Fantasy Award-winning, peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal published by The Finnish Society for Science Fiction and Fantasy Research. The journal provides an open-access international forum for scholarly exchanges on science fiction, fantasy, and issues current in the field. Fafnir welcomes contributions from a wide range of perspectives, and we publish two issues each year.
- Mediaeval ScandinaviaA journal devoted to the study of mediaeval civilization in Scandinavia and Iceland.
- Nordic Theater StudiesNordic Theatre Studies is the leading academic journal for theatre researchers in the Nordic and Baltic countries and for all scholars writing about theatre and performance related to these countries.
- Saga-Book of the Viking Society for Northern ResearchSaga-Book is the Society’s annual periodical, and one of the world’s leading publications in the field of medieval Northern studies.
- Scandinavian StudiesThe journal of the Society for the Advancement of Scandinavian Studies.
- Scandinavica: An International Journal of Scandinavian StudiesScandinavica is a scholarly journal focusing on the literature and culture of all the Nordic countries.
- Viking and Medieval ScandinaviaViking and Medieval Scandinavia is a multidisciplinary journal that covers the full range of studies in the field, stretching geographically from Russia to North America and chronologically from the Viking Age to the end of the medieval period.