Scandinavian Literature

The majority of printed books found in this guide are located at the following library locations: 

• Arts Library: Core collection of film history and criticism. Greatest strength is in English-language books, but does selectively collect some European-language books and periodicals.
• Charles E. Young Research Library (YRL): Houses research-level collections in the humanities and social sciences, including the majority of UCLA's international books and periodicals. 
• Library Special Collections (LSC): Unique and rare materials that do not circulate; follow the link for information on searching and requesting LSC materials. Refer also to this FAQ page. 
• Powell Library: Focuses on collections that primarily support undergraduate curricula in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics.
• Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF): Off-site storage facility for all campus libraries; most materials can be delivered to an on-campus library for pick-up (look for a "request" link when viewing an SRLF item in the library catalog). 
• UCLA Lab School Library: Children's book collection that is accessible to UCLA Library card holders.

For a complete list of UCLA Library locations and hours, go here. 

The UCLA Library uses the Library of Congress (LOC) Classification to organize its holdings. Searching LOC's standardized subject headings can help you find books on specific topics, authors, and genres in UC Library Search. To find more relevant subject headings, look at individual catalog records that are relevant to your topic—you will find subject headings listed in the "Details" section under "Subject". You can also browse UC Library Search by Library of Congress Subject Heading (LCSH) here; just select the option in the dropdown. Some examples are: 

• Scandinavian Literature
• Danish Literature
• Finnish Literature
• Icelandic Literature
• Norwegian Literature
• Swedish Literature

It can also be useful to know the Library of Congress call number ranges. Below are the ranges most relevant to Scandinavian Literature. For a detailed breakdown, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline. Select Section P -- Language and Literature, then subclass PT (or see below). 

Subclass PT

PT7001-7099  Scandinavian literature
PT7001-7099              General
PT7001-7087                          Literary history and criticism
PT(7088)-(7089)                     Folk literature
PT7090-7099                          Collections

PT7101-7338  Old Norse literature: Old Icelandic and Old Norwegian
PT7101-7211              Literary history and criticism
PT7170-7176                          Poetry
PT7177-7211                          Prose
PT7181-7193                                      Sagas
PT7195-7211                                      Scientific and learned literature
PT7220-7262.5            Collections
PT7230-7252                          Poetry
PT7255-7262.5                       Prose
PT7261-7262.5                                    Sagas
PT7263-7296              Individual sagas and historical works
PT7298-7309              Religious works
PT7312-7318              Scientific and learned literature
PT7326-7338              Individual authors or works before 1540

PT7351-7550  Modern Icelandic literature
PT7351-7418              Literary history and criticism
PT(7420)-(7438)         Folk literature
PT7442                       Juvenile literature (General)
PT7450-7495              Collections
PT7500-7511              Individual authors or works
PT7500-7501                          16th-18th centuries
PT7510-7511                          19th-20th centuries
PT7512-7513                          21st century
PT7520-7550              Provincial, local, foreign