The Geo-Python course teaches you the basic concepts of programming using the Python programming language in a format that is easy to learn and understand (no previous programming experience required). Each lesson is a tutorial with specific topic(s) where the aim is to gain skills and understanding how to solve common data-related tasks using Python programming (see schedule & learning goals). Course is organized by the Department of Geosciences and Geography at the University of Helsinki.
Automating GIS-processes -course from the University of Helsinki teaches you how to do different GIS-related tasks in Python programming language. Each lesson is a tutorial with specific topic(s) where the aim is to learn how to solve common GIS-related problems and tasks using Python tools. Lessons use publicly avilable data and assumes that you know the basics of Python programming. If Python is not familiar to you, we recommend to start with our earlier course that focuses on learning the basics of Python from geo-python.github.io.
Earth Data Science Courses & Workshops that are taught as a part of the professional Certificate and Masters program in Earth Data Analytics offered by Earth Lab at the University of Colorado - Boulder. These are free, self-paced courses online. You will also find tutorials using R, Git, and others.
Esri StoryMaps combine interactive maps with text, photos, video and sound to create interactive experiences to communicate your story to others. A UCLA ArcGIS Online Organization account is required to create a StoryMap. StoryMaps published to the public can be viewed by anyone.
A collection of StoryMaps created by others. Gather ideas and see what's possible.
A detailed guide of the different components of a StoryMap. This is a good overview guide.
Here's a handful of tried-and-true techniques that will make your so-so story start to really resonate with your audience. Some of these are universal storytelling principles; others are more particular to story maps.
StoryMap Collaboration
To share editing or collaborate on a StoryMap requires setup by an administrator. Please contact the Data Science Center for assistance.
A blog about what’s new in ArcGIS StoryMaps. A great resource to see the latest features in action as well as other tips and tricks. Be sure to check out some of past What's New blogs for other great tips.
Hands-on Tutorials
Learn ArcGIS provides hands-on tutorials and exercises to teach GIS. This collection of Learn ArcGIS lessons focuses on StoryMaps.
Get started with ArcGIS StoryMaps
Build a story map about a National Geographic scientific expedition undertaken by three researchers to a Guatemalan volcano.
Specific StoryMap Tips
A list of short, simple tips will help you get the most out of the story builder, especially when it comes to smaller features you may have overlooked.
StoryMap navigation provides the ability to add a table of contents or bookmark links that let readers jump to different parts of a story. Scroll to this section to learn more and watch a brief video.
Map actions allow you to enrich your stories with optional map interactions. Map actions are configurable toggle buttons that you can add to any sidecar slide that contains a web map or web scene. When readers select a map action, the appearance of the map changes.
Instructions on how to embed a TimelineJS component in a StoryMap using an Embed block. These steps can be used to embed almost any content into a StoryMap
ArcGIS StoryMaps is regularly updated with new features, enhancements, bug fixes, and performance improvements. These release notes list the updates for each ArcGIS StoryMaps release with the most recent update shown first.
Survey123 for ArcGIS is a complete, form-centric solution for creating, sharing and analyzing surveys. Use it to create smart forms with skip logic, defaults, and support for multiple languages. Collect data via web or mobile devices, even when disconnected from the Internet. Analyze results quickly, and upload data securely for further analysis.
Provides the basic steps for creating a Survey123 in either the desktop tool called Connect or the browser-based form. Toggle between the two using the options at the top.
A collection of lessons from Learn ArcGIS that are real-world lessons for learning Survey123. Includes getting started, designing one in multiple languages and more.
The GeoNet Survey123 group is where you can find the latest information on Survey123 for ArcGIS, ask questions, and participate in discussions.
A collection of short videos for creating surveys and incorporating advanced functionality into your own survey. Updated frequently with new videos.