This section of the library guide follows a regular process for how you might use the library to conduct research for a specific project or paper. It begins with a section for explaining how you can choose a topic, how you can search through general resources, including books, ebooks, academic or scholarly journal articles, original source material in our special collection, streaming media, and newspapers. It then also covers how you can learn about properly citing and writing using the sources you find.
This section has guidance for setting up a Virtual proxy network (VPN) so you can access materials remotely, tips on how to read for school, and some entry level searchable databases.
This section will guide you through searching the library's physical collection of books at all 10 library locations on campus, as well as, the entire collection of electronic format book you can access digitally.
This section will guide you through searching for "peer reviewed journals" which are produced by academic researchers in a given discipline and reviewed by other experts to ensure their quality before being published. For most majors this will be the bulk of materials you want to use in academic projects.
This section will show you more about the many collections of original materials that UCLA has in its collection. This can range from material like original printings of works, personal papers of famous or influential people, manuscripts of historical events or other source materials that are not widely available.
This section will guide you through the steps of developing citations, or crediting the work of others that you will be interacting with in your research and academic work.