NAICS/SIC Industry Classification Codes
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Manual1997 to current
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code Manual1937 through 1987 and still in use
Databases and Other Resources for Consumer Market Research
Who’s making the product, or something like it? Who’s buying it, or likely to buy your similar product?
Use these resources to find information about your potential market(s):
- BCC Research
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, lengthy market research reports covering major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial and advanced manufacturing (Business-to-Business), pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. UCLA's subscription includes all available report categories, Browse by report subject categories, or search reports by keywords, exact phrase matches, and more. BCC Research, LLC, a private market research firm, was founded in 1971 and is headquartered in Wellesley, Massachusetts. - GartnerResearch reports and expert analysis for all areas of information technology.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For articles (and more) covering all aspects of business & industry, published in all types of magazines and journals; special strength is academic & research journals. Searchable parts of records include NAICS code numbers.
- Census Bureau Demographic Data Example: Age and Sex in the United StatesIncludes "Age and Sex Composition in the United States: 2010 Census Brief," and, from the Current Population Survey, "Older Population in the United States: 2012" and "Age and Sex Composition in the United States: 2012" [the latest available data].
- Explore Census Data (formerly American FactFinder)This is a new platform for accessing U.S. census data. American FactFinder moved to this new platform on March 31, 2020.
- IBISWorld Industry Research Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, fully searchable U.S. industry analyses, covering over 790 industries at the 5-digit NAICS level - more than 97% of the U.S. economy. Browse by industry or search by keyword(s).
Tip: Don't miss the "US Business Environment Profiles," to find out which "Key Economic Drivers" impact your product or service, and the customers who will be the potential market for your product or service. On the IBISWorld home page, place your cursor over the "Industry Risk Ratings" tab to access the Business Environment Profiles. - MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable repository (aggregator) of over 3,000 full-text market research reports covering eight major subject areas: business services, consumer goods, demographics, food & beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, public sector, and technology and media. The following market research firms are the contributors included in UCLA's subscription: Freedonia Focus; Kalorama Information; Mind Commerce; Packaged Facts; and Simba Information. To get to Freedonia Focus Reports, go to Advanced Search and click on the drop-down menu of Publishers.
- Profile of Older Americans (Administration for Community Living, U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services)Each year, the Administration on Aging (AoA) compiles the latest U.S. Census data into a Profile of Older Americans. The profile provides data on changes in demographics of the population over age 65, including housing, income, and poverty information. The profile is available in PDF format. Data tables are also available in Microsoft Excel spreadsheets. The 2018 Profile is the latest available.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
- RKMA Market Research Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Annually/biennially-updated market research reports, primarily for the United States, in the fields of business, healthcare, and consumer markets. UCLA owns the following specific titles: Business-to-Business Marketing; Consumer Behavior; Consumer Marketing; Entertainment, Media, and Advertising; Healthcare Business; International Consumer Markets; Leisure Business Market; Restaurant, Food and Beverage Market; Retail Business; Sports Marketing; and Travel & Tourism Market Research.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
- SMA: Sports Market Analytics (formerly Sports Business Research Network)
- This link opens in a new window
Focus on sports participation and athletic equipment.
Computing/Information Technology - "The Digital Market"
Databases for market research with a technology focus.
- eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window
For anything and everything digital; also an excellent resource for demographic data
- Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Industries and products; market trends; companies; tutorials