Black Art and Artists

This unique reference work brings the lives and work of many virtually unknown African-American architects to light for the first time. Written by 100 experts ranging from architectural historians to archivists, this book contains 160 biographical, A-Z entries on African-American architects from the era of Emancipation to the end of World War II. Articles provide biographical facts about each architect, and commentary on his or her work. Practical and accessible, this reference is complemented by over 200 photographs and includes an appendix containing a list of buildings by geographic location and by architect.

This bibliography of writings about Black art and artists includes both academic writing and articles from popular magazines such as Essence and Jet. Its focus is largely on northeastern artists and publications, but is quite comprehensive within that scope.

In Caribbean Women and Their Art: An Encyclopedia, Mary Ellen Snodgrass explores the rich history of women’s creative expression by examining the crafts and skill of over 70 female originators in the West Indies, from the familiar islands—Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba, Puerto Rico—to the obscurity of Roatan, Curaçao, Guanaja, and Indian Key. Focusing particularly on artistic style during the arrival of Europeans among the West Indies, the importance of cultural exchange, and the preservation of history, this book captures a wide variety of artistic accomplishment, including folk music, acting, dance, herbalism, food writing, sculpture, pottery, and adobe construction.

This book, drawn from the NMAA's collection of works by more than 100 African American artists, is a guide to the art and lives of thirty-one of these artists. The essays about each artist are a blend of history, biography and art criticism.

This Companion authoritatively points to the main areas of inquiry within the subject of African American art history. The book covers published scholarship on the topic, trends in the teaching of and research regarding African American art, its collection and display by museums and galleries, and the very meaning of "African American art" as it is constructed. This book will be of interest to graduate students, researchers, and professors and may be used in American art, African American art, visual culture, and culture classes.

This comprehensive bibliography provides a great starting point for research on African American artists who were active during the period 1730-1979. While it does not cover artists in the mediums of photography or architecture, it does include crafts, illustrators and fine art practitioners.